The Great Green Isle - Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 7th 2011
Published: July 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I’m a little overdue in updating you all on my whereabouts of the past week.. so read on!
I arrived into Dublin, Ireland (from Abu Dhabi) on Sunday 26 June.
Irish people are known for their lively sense of humour and as the plane landed and jolted a bit, some locals sitting near me were joking around that the pilot had over shot the run way and we were in trouble. This humour set the scene for the week to come!

With just a few hours left on my day of arrival, I set foot to explore the city of Dublin. Checking my watch, it was 9pm and the sun was still brightly shining – what a pleasant surprise that the days were going to get longer!
The next morning I set out to join my Shamrocker Adventure tour group – 44 people on a bus, majority Aussies, an Irish bus driver and tour guide. I was booked on a 5 day tour but was having so much fun that I extended to 7 days. Over the 7 days, we did a big loop around the great green isle – saw so much beautiful green countryside and lots of old castles. Here are the highlights;
• Blarney Castle – if you kiss the Blarney stone, they say you will get the gift of the gab!
• Enjoyed a river boat cruise
• Rode bikes around Inis More, Aran Islands (see pic of me hanging over cliff edge)
• Had some very tasty Irish stew :d
• Conquered the carrick-a-rede rope bridge (see pic)
• Cliffs of Moher – amazing! (if you know Princess Bride you will know these as Cliffs of Insanity)
• Walked around a fairy circle and made a wish in the fairy wishing well (didn’t see any fairies though!)
• Black cab history tour in Belfast

I think the photos best explain what I saw and did - check them out (there are many more ofcourse!).

The liveliness of the pubs with traditional music was very cool – so on our last night back in Dublin, a few of us from the group went in search for some dinner and live music. Before we got to dinner, we ran into some locals singing outside a pub that insisted we join them for some singing and a drink, such friendly folk!

A common word in the Irish vocabulary used to describe the level of fun is ‘craic’ and I can say that the craic was ninety! (which means I had heaps of fun within safe limits).

So that sums up Ireland!

Thanks to those who have let me know you are actually reading my blogs, happy to hear from you 😊
London is next!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Kissing the Blarney StoneKissing the Blarney Stone
Kissing the Blarney Stone

Will I get the gift if the gab - or do I already have it?
Fairy CircleFairy Circle
Fairy Circle

We could only walk around it, not inside so we didnt disturb the fairies!


8th July 2011

Gift of the gab
I am pretty sure you already had the gift of the gab Kim ;) And I was just thinking to myself, that I was wondering what you were up to as you hadn't done a blog entry in a short while :D
11th July 2011

Amazing
Howdy Cous from the land of OZ Loving the blog updates and the pics are amazing!! You write so well, you should take up being a travel journalist :) Look forward to the next update. All is well here and loving the new job. Have you managed to find someone to travel with after your 6 week camp?

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb