Getting Lost = Finding Cool Things!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 24th 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Customs HouseCustoms HouseCustoms House

Attempting to get a good picture, with people on the street annoyed at the random tourist blocking the sidewalk
So, the past couple of days have been an absolute whirlwind and it all feels like it's somewhat of a dream! Am I really in Europe, attempting to live without a job or place to live? That would be a yes. However, I've been through my orientation at the SWAP office, so at least I have a good idea of what I'm in for and I have them for support. Step 1= become registered with ROI, step 2= apply for your pps number, step 3= fill out your 12A tax form etc. etc. ....it's all a little confusing, but so far I have steps 1-2 completed so I think I'm well on my way.

I finally have roommates and surprisingly they're all German, except for a Quebec girl who just moved in today. We've quickly became friends and at least now I have some buddies to wander around with. We all went out to our first real Irish pub last night (Knightsbridge Pub) and it was pretty cool. They had a live Irish band and dancers; they were really amazing. The band was fantastic and Irish music is very entertaining, its quite quirky and fun. I even had my very first half-pint of Guinness and believe it or not, I actually really liked it. Maybe it's just that it tastes better in the atmosphere of Ireland, but it didn't taste half as bad as everyone says.

I needed to get out yesterday, so I thought I'd go find Trinity College which was supposedly 2 minutes from the hostel. While I did come behind the college, I actually ended up seeing City Hall, Dublinia and some other cool buildings that I have no clue what they were haha. Temple Bar is really quite confusing, but if you wander long enough you find your way around easily enough. Even today, I had to go far North to file my paperwork and I got to see Christchurch and the Spire, as well as a really sketchy area of Dublin I know to avoid now. Well, I need to get back to job hunting I think, so enjoy the new pictures and I'll write more soon! Love,

xoxo Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

GatesGates
Gates

I'm pretty sure this is the back of Trinity College, but I'm not quite sure haha
Knightsbridge PubKnightsbridge Pub
Knightsbridge Pub

My camera wouldn't take good pictures in the dark, so this is it!
Ulster Bank...Ulster Bank...
Ulster Bank...

..or attempting to capture it, but instead I got a real Irish man! Isn't he neat looking?


24th March 2011

Lucky Duck
Hi Sarah. I'm already enjoying your trip. So many things so see and hopefully lots of time to see them. Please tell me your not living on the streets! Just be careful and enjoy everything you can. Work will come soon enough! Kisses and hugs and we are thinking of you!!!
26th March 2011
I don't know ??

.........
It's Pearse Street Garda Station!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb