First Day (or 1/2 day) of Work


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first day of work!! Well- it was only a half day... but one of my bosses took me around the city center to show me around to the various Porterhouse owned locations. There's a lot. Two tapas bars, one that we went into and I fell in LOVE with. It's extremely cute/romantic/comfortable. The walls are lined with vintage wine bottles behind class and candles that they light at night. Everything is very dimly lit, and I can only imagine how gorgeous it looks when it's open. They have an outdoor seating area as well that has low-sitting glass chairs and tables- I am very impressed by all the layouts/designs of the pubs/nightclub/tapas bars. It's incredible how well they were able to make everything look fancy and modern, yet not pretentious or trying to hard at all. So today all I really did was meet a few of the site managers, get tours of all the nearby locations, have tea with my office coworkers, and get my t-shirts for when i work at the pubs. I spend the rest of the early afternoon exploring the nearby areas, going grocery shopping and such. It is a beautiful day today, I plan on going for a run in a bit to get some fresh air.

Yesterday a group of us went to a Irish Hurling championship game. I honestly had no idea what hurling was before purchasing my tickets, but it is probably one of the coolest sports to watch... especially with a stadium filled with excited Irish people. I got pretty into it as the game progressed, especially after I got a better idea of what the hell was going on! It's hard to explain what hurling is though- but we counted how many other sports it seemed to incorporate, and we came up with it being a mix of football, soccer, field hockey, golf, lacrosse, rugby, and baseball. Sounds crazy I know- and it kinda was!

Can't wait for a full day's work tomorrow! :o)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

End of the GameEnd of the Game
End of the Game

Kilkenny beat Dublin- very sad... apparently Kilkenny is the best hurling team in history though!!


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb