Thank Goodness for India Air. . .


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We have safely arrived in Dublin! Our sanity, on the other hand, is loosely intact. I know I already wrote an entry this morning describing our London trip, but we have a little bit of time before we can check into our hostel and the luxury of free wi-fi at the Dublin Public Library (which I am an official member of now. . . Requirement to use the computer. . .), so I am going to take advantage. Mom, I am also hoping this will put your mind somewhat at ease. . . But I know that might not be such an easy task. (Also I couldn't figure out how to just edit the last entry as opposed to making an entire new entry.. man I am bad at this thing. . . )

Anyways, some last little tidbits from London. . . Well, first of all - Mom and Dad - You two must go there. At almost every site that I saw I thought of you two and how much you would love the place! Right now my feet are telling me that I must have walked the entirety of London, but even with 10 hour days of walking, there is still so much we wanted to see that we didn't get a chance to! Just another excuse to go back . . . But really, one of the great things about London was simply the people. I'll admit, I was quite ignorant about the place and what to expect. I envisioned a stereotypical british man with grey hair and English accent, but in actuality it is such a melting pot of people from all different cultures, countries, and backgrounds. Everyone there was incredibly nice to us, probably in part because we looked like clueless tourists (righteously so. . ), but nonetheless it felt very welcoming. We spent time chatting with two couples from Hungary, met a number of people from Brazil, of course our Yugoslavian coffee buddy, the list goes on and on. I actually loved, for once, being the foreigner and getting to talk with all sorts of people about where they come from. On one of our late night busrides home, I was sitting next to a guy when I asked him a question about where we were. He could tell right away I was American, and started asking me about our trip. When I told him about where we were going in Europe, he just simply asked, 'Well what about Africa? Why are you not going to Africa?' Funny you should mention that! Turns out he was from Ghana, and so we had another pretty enlightening conversation. I guess you never know who you're going to meet on a late night bus!

At this point, we have not slept in about 30 hours. Because we are taking Ryanair - cheapest flights of all time - The airports we use are much more off the beaten path. In order for us to get to the airport from our London hotel, we had to take a taxi to the bus station, then take about an hour bus to the airport. Also, the flights are so cheap because they are huge and typically completely booked, and so you have to get there exactly two hours beforehand to check in if you want to avoid all of the crazy lines. Between this and a number of unforseen tube closures last night after dinner (Which btw, was at this amazing indian restaurant. . Apparently England is supposed to have some of the best Indian cuisine in the world, so we had to try it out. I don't have much to compare it to, but I can tell you, it was great. . . ) which caused us to get home at about 11:45, we had another night with no sleep. Our plan is to check into our hostel in 2 hours, sleep for a while, then head out for the evening. Tomorrow and Wednesday are going to be our tourist days where we will get up early and see the attractions that we can. Our hostel here in Dublin is right in the center of the city, so I am very excited to NOT have to worry about 1-2hour transits multiple times a day. . .To be honest, I'm not quite sure how I'm functioning at this point, so if things start seeming a bit slurred and hazy at the end of this entry, consider yourself warned. . . Which brings me to the namesake of this entry. . . We took the complimentary pillows and blankets from our India Air flight, and I literally don't know what we would have done without them. Since the majority of our sleep (literally) has either been on airplanes, in random parks throughout London, or in any place where we're sittign still for more than 5 minutes (bus rides, taxis. . . Sarah even fell asleep on the floor when we went into the bathroom to freshen up. . . )these blankets have been lifesavers. So again, props to Air India for taking good care of us.

Alright, enough for now. Hopefully at some point we will be able to upload some photos, but until then, I'll do my best to keep you all updated and informed. If you get a chance, send me an email or message, It would be great to hear from everyone!


ps Teresa did you really name your cat Kasey? Miss me that much eh??

Advertisement



25th May 2009

I don't know how to edit. . .
Like I said before, I don't know how to edit these things, and I have about 2 minutes left on the computer, but here's the link to our Dublin hostel for anyone who is interested: http://www.hosteldublin.com/hosteldetails.php/HostelNumber.108 Enjoy!
27th May 2009

Kasey the Kitty
Kasey the kitty is attempting to type on the computer right at the moment. hspieh there is your message from Kasey the Kat!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb