I am so the Princess of Canada


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 17th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to a BBQ at my new coworkers flat. His name is Johan and he is from France. He is a nice kid who kind of... welll blatantly has a crush on me. He spends most of our time working together declaring his undying love for me, informing me that by the end of the month I will be in love with him as well, and letting me know that if i don't want him to be my boyfriend he is ok with being my mistress... he is very french! I must say it does keep me entertained throughout the day.

He begged me to attend his BBQ and since he lives in the apartment building next to mine I told him I would drop by but that he shouldn't think that it is a sign that I am falling in love with him. There were a lot of people, from all across the globe, in attendance: French, Spanish, Brazilian, German, Chinese, and me the token Canadian. There was a lot of delicious food... A spanish frittata (egg, potatoe, and onions), a french salad (lettuce, corn, egg, tomato, onion, and tuna), a spanish tomatoe dip with crackers (stewed tomatoe, onions or scallions im not sure, black olives, and olive oil) and brazilian chicken on the BBQ.

The BBQ was a nice evening, although I did have to clarify to everyone that Johan introduced me to that "noo despite how Johan introduced me I am NOT his girlfriend. I ended up hanging out with my Spanish coworker Ester and Brazilian coworker Baya and their Brazilian friends. When I first started to chat with their friends the guys kept joking around that the one guy Phill was really famous in Brazil and that I should get his autograph. Well Phil kept denying it and saying that it was a joke they liked to play on him by telling new people they meet that he is famous. So I believed him that he wasn't famous and jokingly added that I was the princess of Canada so I understood what it was to be famous. So after talking with them for most of the night the one guy pulled out a laptop and showed me a video from Brazil and guess who the drummer in the band was...PHIL... Apparently, he was the drummer for this popular punk/pop band called Jokempo for 3 years but he left the group to travel and improve his english.

So after the BBQ I went home and watched a really sweet Czech movie with Milan, Monika, and Pepa. The movie is called "I enjoy Life with You" or and it is from the late 70's. It is a story about 3 men who go to a cottage together every winter as sort of a "boys" weekend leaving their wives and children at home. So this year the wives, fed up with never being invited, tell the husbands that they cannot go unless they take the children with them. So the men gather up the children and take them to their cabin in the snow covered mountains. It's really funny watching the men think that they can parent better than their wives and the antics that they get up to. Definitely a must see movie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb