Back for the Craic!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
April 11th 2009
Published: April 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It was a long day to get to Dublin, but my flights went well. I got into town about 8 am thursday morning. I met Naveen, an old flatmate of mine from a few years back. Had some coffee got cleaned up and started re-seeing Dublin for the first time. After a little while of walking around the city center I visited a couple of old friends and ex workmates Declan and Robin. So a little bit of catching up some coffee, some beer and some food (all for free). Jet lag was starting to make its presence well known, so i slept on my old couch for the afternoon. That evening I met Declan and Carmel for some drinks, then out to Howth (a little town on the seaside just outside Dublin) to visit some old friends. Drank a few more beers out there then home to bed.

Friday morning started with a cheese shopping adventure. Naveen wanted some cheese and a good friend of mine Ming worked at a cheese shop, so we got loads of samples and learned a few things too. Naveen cooked a great curry for supper, then had a house party at the flat. Maybe twenty people or so showed up, it was Good Friday and the bars are closed here in Ireland. It was a good time. I went for a little adventure out in Temple Bar around 2am the place was near vacant. But there was this one guy busking with a guitar and harmonica, so I requested some Neil Young. Next thing I know the guy hands me the guitar and I play and he plays the harmonica. We played some down by the river and like a rolling stone. A few people walked by, but we didn't get any coins, probably due to my singing. I returned the guitar and proceeded to find some food, then I hear somebody shouting at me. This English dude was looking for a place to buy some beers and a guess I looked like i could help or he was real desperate. The funny thing is I did in fact know of this late night restaurant that always sold us beer back in the day. Sure enough we got some beers and I accepted my finders fee of one beer. I returned back to the flat ate a big plate of leftovers then to bed.

So far Dublin is just as much fun as it was the last time I was here. Its good 'Craic" as the Irish say. Anyway I predict some more pints and lots of banter in the near future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb