My Apartment


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
February 12th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Tour of Apartment 131 secs

My First Few Days



Sooo I have been in Dublin a few days now and I am really enjoying myself. The city is beautiful and I actually like it more than Toronto. It's a cute version of Toronto. So far the people have been very nice and helpful. Everything I need is within a few minutes of my door or easy enough to walk to. The prices for food are pretty good if you go to the "price chopper" version of supermarkets rather then the Marks and Spencers supermarket. There are a lot of organic food and some soy products for me to eat. There is even a small fruit/veggie market about 10 min. from my place where you can get 10 bananas for 1Euro or 12 apples for 1 Euro and so on.

My apartment and roommates are really nice. There are 4 people that I live with Karel, my roommate, Monica and Milan who are all from Czech, and Graza from Lithuania. The apartment is a good size my room is big with a double bed and lots of closet space. My bathroom is also a good size, which I share with only Karel. Everyone is really
Along the LiffeyAlong the LiffeyAlong the Liffey

Near where I live.
nice and relaxed type of people. They are all working and trying to better their English. So I try to help them out with their English and they teach me Czech, Lithuanian, and Russian in exchange. So far, I had my first lesson last night.

Ahoj jek se mes... which means Hi, how are you? ... and is pronounced as Ahoy, yek-se-mash

that was Czech by the way.

I have emailed my resume to some office temp agencies and they will review it and email me back with a day to come in for an interview. Hopefully they like me enough to send me out on jobs. I still need to go register with immigration, get my PPS (Sin) number, and open a bank account but you need to have proof that you have a residence in Ireland so I am waiting on the next utility bill so that I can take that in.

My address is :
4 berry house
custom house square, mayor st.
Dublin 1
Dublin, Ireland

My apartment is in the heart of the International Financial Services Centre so its a booming business area with lots of shops. It'sright along the
The Liffey at NightThe Liffey at NightThe Liffey at Night

The area near my apartment.
Liffey (the major river that runs through dublin) by the ports. It is only a ten minute walk to the very centre of the city.

I will write again soon! and hopefully get the video/pics up soon



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My ApartmentMy Apartment
My Apartment

The restaurants under my apartment... a wine bar, a pizza shop, a fancy restaurant, and a corner store that has a Tim Hortons coffee and donut section... for alittle taste of home.
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

My apartment is the second floor, first balcony.
The International Financial Services CentreThe International Financial Services Centre
The International Financial Services Centre

The are where I live is in the heart of the Int'l financial services district.
BoatsBoats
Boats

Pretty boats parked at the docks across from my apartment


15th February 2009

I just saw this after the park..
...great that you have a place...looks very nice!!! Glad to know tha t you are settling in nicely.....looks like a nice sweet home away from home.....enjoy yer ieerish experience. (that's irish accent written) I hope you got my other message...at the park!!! your across the seas neighbour, Kath
19th February 2009

Is there ever any getting away from...
the Tims?...that is too crazy! I just noticed now that you mentioned that there is a Tim Horton's section in the store! Anyway....we wish you all the best in your job search! Can't wait to see the latest do's of the youth. Hopefully you can get some pics of that. Not much else....we've been having some light flurries and it's a little cold but not too bad! Write to you soon! KAth

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb