Baile Atha Cliath


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I
* walked around (mostly because museums and such were closed when I arrived)
* for several minutes, chatted with a garbage man who
- knew that Helsinki is the capital of Finland, but couldn't remember Stockholm
- doesn't think he'd like having a lip ring
- should consider opening a tourist information centre
* couldn't understand how to get the key card system in hostel to work (locks seriously dislike me!), here's hoping I'll manage today
* was really annoyed at one girl in the dorm who didn't whisper when people tried to sleep, and accordingly lost one of my earplugs, and realized my ears are too small for them anyway
* took loads of photos of buildings. So pretty!
* came across soooo many Finns (all of them probably took the same plane that I did)

Today I
* wanted to go to the Natural History Museum, but it turned out to be closed for no apparent reason. No whale sceletons then, hmph!
* wanted to go to the Kilmainham Gaol, i.e. jail, but was thereabouts only an hour before it closed so instead wandered to Phoenix Park (I'm not sure when the last guided jail tour begins), which was really nice: big, dark green trees, Wicklow Mountains in the horizon, and an old, abandonded barb-wired military complex thing apparently about to collapse (so the signs said, well almost). I walked there all the way from the city; it was kinda fun seeing the suburbs instead of the city centre. I took the bus back though, too much walking for one day...
* ate strawberry cheesecake ice-cream. So. damn. good. I'm happy there's no Burger King in Finland, else I'd always be there eating strawberry cheesecake ice-cream.
* will drink banana milk, yum

Tomorrow I'll
* go to Wicklow & Glendalough
* something else, I'm running out of Internet time! (1€ per minute 😊)

Advertisement



10th June 2008

Uh-oh
I mean, Internet is 1€ per *hour*... oops :D

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb