Stating off my Vacation!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 13th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

First Stop-Dublin!


They call them bedroomsThey call them bedroomsThey call them bedrooms

In Dublin's hotel, my first day in Europe
Well, I flew into Dublin VERY early and got a shuttle to my hotel. Which was close to the airport, but alas...nothing else. I was exhausted considering I got NO sleep and it was now around 0600 Dublin time. I wanted to see the city--of course--and atleast have a Guiness. But, I needed to sleep for a bit. Well, the desired 3 hour nap turned into a much needed 6 hour nap and so I took a quick shower and headed into the city via shuttle back to airport to catch the city bus which was 6 Euro round trip. So there I was in Dublin Ireland with no set agenda. I decided to walk around the shops and then see if I could catch any tours. First I walked through Trinity College and then to the tourist information. By this time it was after 4pm and most tours were ending at 5pm. So, no I did NOT go to the Guiness Beer Factory. I opted instead to check out the architecture and people instead. After some walking in a amazingly bustling city for a Tuesday, I finally picked a pub in a less touristy, yet interesting neighborhood. I ordered a
Market on side streetMarket on side streetMarket on side street

Fresh market in Dublin
Guiness at the bar and soon after some fish and chips for a typically Irish evening. Though there was going to be live music, my tired self decided it was a bit of a ride back to hotel and I was exhausted!! So I walked through Temple Bar, which is the happening spot in town and walked in to manage a tight spot near the bar to order another famous Irish dark beer. I sat, rather leaned there for a while and finished the last drop before walking back to O'Connell street where I would attempt to figure out which bus goes back to the airport. I figured it out and headed back. I went right to bed since I had to get up at 0430 for my flight to Brussels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Man on streetMan on street
Man on street

Playing drum on street
Trinity CollegeTrinity College
Trinity College

largest college in Ireland
DoorsDoors
Doors

Lots of doors in Dublin were colored
Guinness on TapGuinness on Tap
Guinness on Tap

Pub near Stephen's Green in Dublin
Temple BarTemple Bar
Temple Bar

Temple Bar area
ha' Penny Bridgeha' Penny Bridge
ha' Penny Bridge

Bridge that used to cost 1/2 penny to cross in Dublin
In a Dublin PubIn a Dublin Pub
In a Dublin Pub

having a guinness at The Brazen Head
Heineken SignHeineken Sign
Heineken Sign

On the side of building near O'Connell street


Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb