Back to City life


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 29th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So we were in Kinsale on Friday and Saturday. The town was lovely... theres no other way to describe it. To me it seemed like it was a bit like the Hamptons or Cape cod, I didn't meet anyone that actually lived in the town, just the surrounding area. Mom and I just explored the town all day then went out for a drink Saturday night. After she headed back to the hotel I went back to the bar, then out to a true afterhours European dance club. I thought it was pretty ironic because the song that they closed on was "New York, New York"!
Apparently theres a beauty pagent called the Rose of Trailee. The girl that won this year was a New Yorker and everyone in Killarny and Kinsale thought I was her. I got at least 30 people asking me if I was and eventually I started saying yes! At the club a group of people brought fake flower leis to me and made me wear them like the pagent sashes.
Sunday we drove to Kilkenny, I slept most of the drive. It was pretty quiet and grey day so we didn't do much. We were only there for one night, so the next day we went to the Kilkenny Castle (home of the Butlers for years) then started the drive to Kilkea. We stayed in Kilkea Castle that night. I think it was supposed to be haunted, but no ghosts unfortunatly. Im sure everyones sick of me saying beautiful, and georgeous... but of course it was! Mom and I went to the pool and playing in it like little kids for a couple hours.
Yesterday we began our last car journey to Dublin. We took the scenic route, which is a little more than terrifying with mom driving. In the end it was worth it. We went to Sally gap, which is more or less a valley with a lake in the middle. The only way to understand how beautful it is is to see it, but unfortunatly we didnt have the digital camera charged but we had a disposable. We also saw the tallest waterfall in Ireland, which was in the same area. Eventually we made it to Dublin air port, where we dropped off the car (thank the lord), then took a taxi to our last hotel. Last night we went out for a lovely dinner, then of course I went galavanting to the Temple Bar area. I met a group of girls that where having a "hen" or bachelorette party. They were dressed up as the seven dwarves, and passed out flyers saying Snow white was missing and asking people to look for her. Once they saw I was alone they decided to make me Snow White! I went with them to the famous actual Temple Bar, listened to some great music, then to another after hours Dance Club. Dublins great fun, but similar to any other city. I still think its amazing though. Today we did alot of shopping I should be getting ready to go out, but im being lazy. We were going to see Riverdance tonight but it just finished playing last week. Oh well, only two nights left!!!
Much love, take it handy!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb