Let's go home


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
October 17th 2017
Published: April 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We awoke early at about 3am. Our flight was not until 10:25am, but I saw that the final Shannon flight had diverted to Dublin the day before due to the storm. It would fly empty to Shannon, and then continue to New York. It had a lot of open seats, so why not try it? It was leaving at 7am. We returned our car hire and went inside the airport to ask. Well, the flight did not have a gate, and was remotely parked. In that case they had no way for us to board it. Oh well, at least we tried. I would have loved to have just slept in longer though instead. The weather today was great. Sunshine and no wind. That was a fast moving storm!

We had a quick breakfast at Dublin airport and then checked in for our flight to Boston. Before departing the hotel, I had checked the flight loads, and it looked as if we would get the last 3 business class seats. Well, that did not hold up, and we ended up in premium economy row 23, seats A, B, and C. This was Delta 155, a 757-200 aircraft. The flight was smooth and it was decent. I had 4 gin and tonics, while watching the film "Office Space". I really needed this experience. It was 7 hours and we did it. I know it sounds bad, but I have had this fear of flying in economy lately. It is all in my head. I really did need this for my psyche. Now, can I do 16 hours to Johannesburg or Sydney? No, not yet.

We landed in Boston a little early and went to our connecting gate. It was nice to have already cleared US customs and immigration back in Dublin. We had about 1 hour until the Indy flight.

At 1:50pm, we were on board Delta 5992, an EMB-170 aircraft. We cleared for first, and were in 1A, 1B, and 1C. I had a few gin and tonics on the smooth 2 hour flight. It was good to be back home. We liked County Clare a lot and plan to return sometime.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb