Little Fish in a Little Pond


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal » Letterkenny
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

GlenveaghGlenveaghGlenveagh

many weekend afternoons spent wandering around this national park!
Wow, its a busy week! Actually it would be if I got around to doing anything. As it is, my head is just busy, but nothing is getting done 😊

So here I am in Letterkenny, Co. Donegal - up in the north-west of Ireland. Letterkenny originated as a small fishing village and has grown to be the largest town in the north west. Strange then, that they don't have a fishmongers ... Anyway, as the tourism website for the town states, "Come and stay for a night, a weekend or a week and we know that you will be back for a longer period and more often!". Catchy slogan, eh? I really think that site could do with some work done to it, it's little wonder there's a serious lack of tourists around here, apart from the numerous hen parties from the north.

That said, perhaps it's hit the nail on the head ... I arrived here from Dublin, via Cork, almost 2 and a half years ago, and am only getting around to leaving now ... there must be something in the water ...

Letterkenny and the surrounding areas are right up there in the most beautiful
A rare sunny dayA rare sunny dayA rare sunny day

Ok, I may have stretched the truth on this one - it's actually Antrim! It'd never be that sunny in Donegal!
places in Ireland - when the sun shines which, unfortunately, doesn't happen very often! But when it does, I've spent many happy afternoons in Glenveagh ... and the various beer gardens around the town ... In such a small town you get to know which beer garden will have the best sun at certain times of the day, which is never a good sign!

But it's time to move on now and see what the rest of the world has to offer!

And first stop is South America and a reunion with my sister Cac and boyfriend Pat for what is likely to be 2 and a half weeks of turbo giggles around Buenos Aires, and of course, Rio de Janeiro for Carnival! That's step 1 ticked off - get suitably freckly (it makes you look browner you know!)

After a brief return visit to Ireland, I'll be heading off for my trans-Africa adventure - Morocco to Cape Town! Wow, I can't wait. As some-one thats been obsessed with David Attenborough (Betty, in a platonic way, not like Tommy Cannon) and Animal Planet as long as I can remember, it's been a dream I never thought would be reality. But
Glenveigh SunsetGlenveigh SunsetGlenveigh Sunset

Best we get around here!
thanks to Bertie and the SSIA's, this is the time to take the plunge!

So much to organise in the meantime. For starters I better use the hoover I've been tripping over for 3 days (It's there as a reminder - it's not really working) and get my bags packed! Next few nights will be filled with goodbyes and pints. The two things I'll miss most about Letterkenny? That'd have to be the lads and the Cottage!

Next stop Buenos Aires ... stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MalinMalin
Malin

That'll beat any beach in Africa ;)
Schnee!Schnee!
Schnee!

My favourite minature snowman!
Magic mushroomMagic mushroom
Magic mushroom

Home of the smurfs!


1st February 2007

ams
Great start - look forward to the rest
1st February 2007

Love the blog!!
Wow, I want to go to Letterkenny and see the fabulous beaches and parks, don't care about any of this South American nonsense! It looks like an amazing place. Actually, was I there before? And was it raining? ;-)
1st February 2007

Hey Little Fish
I´m so jealous you are leaving work. I really hope to go travelling someday, it has always been my dream. see you in Buenos Aires. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2nd February 2007

Best of luck
Hey Miffy, Hope you have a great time!
2nd February 2007

sorry people, letterkenny not that good....hence am is leaving. its no malahide!! /- limerick
5th February 2007

ya lucky hoore.
Hey Miffy. Best of luck with the travels. Am keeping the 2nd of March free so you better be free for pints. We'll give you a suitable send off. Enjoy S. America.
6th February 2007

U lucky lucky Bast**d
well ull be glad to know that letterkenny is frozen over today. surprise suprise!! (thats the good news), now for the bad....Sita have trebled all our wages cause we are such good employees...heehee! well keep us posted....and send me ur email address! ***|___|**8....grrrr! feck it!
9th February 2007

Tiny snowman
You inspired me to build another tiny snowman in the UK's "heavy snow" but he wasn't there when I got home from work...

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb