Kinsale Aug 4 2012


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork
August 4th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

August 4 Kinsale Saturday
Today I walked into town and had another look around at things and did a little shopping. I stopped at a restaurant called “The Shack” which was a nice restaurant and had a delicious “Murder by Mushroom” burger. I didn’t think I could eat the whole thing but I did. I did have to cut it into pieces and eat it with a fork as it was too “sloppy” to try and hold in your hand. It was sooooooo good.

After eating I had resolved to not take another long walk until I had found a nice place to sit down and enjoy the view while my meal digested a bit.

However I started walking and saw not too big a stairs and thought I would just walk up it and see what was at the top. What was at the top was another and very long stairs and at the top of that another flight of stairs again !!! So I walked up all of the stairs and found a very nice little park which turned out to be the “bowling green” when the English were here. Beside it was the current Municipal Hall
#249 The bus for Cork#249 The bus for Cork#249 The bus for Cork

The bus lets off and picks up from Pier Road by the harbor.
which in times past was used by the English for their balls and other gatherings. The view from the bowling green of the harbor below was quite nice and I sat on a bench and relaxed a bit enjoying the view while my dinner digested a bit.

Afterwards I walked up another flight of steps to “The Mall” The Mall connects with the Compass Hill circular walk which I walked over to but then decided I will save for that walk for tomorrow. It is said to have some great views.

I walked back down to the harbor and watched a boat competition that they were having for a bit, then eased back to the hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



6th August 2012

Nice sunset
Murder by mushroom looks interesting.

Tot: 0.596s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 77; dbt: 0.2591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb