This is the End


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
August 4th 2015
Published: August 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well, it seems that this is the end. Saying goodbye to those 35 dogs was heartbreaking. Each one of them looked into my eyes as i said goodbye, except Trooper, who was more interested in Moonlight who was laying down near him. I left the kennel on Sunday night after coming to the decision with Siggi because Monday is one of the biggest travel holidays of the year with lots of traffic. I got to do 2 tours, my last one at midnight. My final team was Hammet and Anubis in lead, behind I had Caesar and Franka followed by Nanook and Taiga and Narnia with Nilak in wheel. As it would go, the tour was awesome and the sunset was one of the best we've ever had. When we got back to the kennel I said my final goodbyes to each dog(took about 2 hours) and Siggi drove me down to Reykjavik. It has been such an amazing summer with Charlotte, Henrick, Kristoffer, Anubis, Aurora, Achilles, Caesar, Franks, Freddy, Gramman, Hulk, Hurley(RIP), Hammet, Igor, Jake, Judge, Jakwan, Jupiter, Kalik, Kassuk, Manituk, Morrisett, Moonlight, Maguak, Nanja, Nanook



Now I am in Reykjavik staying at a hostel right downtown. Yesterday I took a bus out to play a round of golf at the Grafarholt Golf Club. I played with Jon and his wife for the entire 18 holes. Jon works as a starter at the club so he was an expert on the layout of the course. He advised me on every shot where to place the ball and so on. It was probably the luckiest round of golf I've ever played. My drives would go spiraling into the rocks along the left side only to pop out into the center of the fairway every time. I also sank 3 +30ft putts, 2 for par and one for a birdie. Each time I got lucky, Jon and his wife would say something like "looks like the elves are with you". I remembered that most people in Iceland actual believe that there are elves who are watching out for you so expect me to be using that phrase when I get home. Everything is in meters here so it certainly took some getting used to. The course was really cool with lots of hills and brush. I got to practice my Icelandic, whenever Jon hit a good shot I would say "yow yow yow yow yow....." which is like saying good shot or whatever. After the game, Jon gave me a ride back to Reykjavik and treated me to a hotdog near the harbor which I guess is famous for Bill Clinton going there. Then he drove me back to my hostel and we said our goodbyes. Jon reminded me a lot of my grandfather Leel, especially how he plays his golf, getting par on every hole. Last night there was nobody else in my 4 person room so I slept really well and went down to the harbor this morning to do some much needed tanning. My face is crazy tan but everything else is pale white.



My flight for San Fransisco leaves at 10am tomorrow morning and then it's on to the warm weather of Northern California and afterwards, a summer in beautiful Block Island. Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb