Icelandic Pele


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
May 25th 2011
Published: May 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Reykjavik

If there's an Icelandic equivalent to Pele, someone must have given an offering of Icelandic vodka because Grimsvotn stopped spewing, the ash cloud over Iceland headed for Scotland and I was able to make my flight with only four hours of delay.

Reykjavik reminds me of a touristy town in Japan (like Hakone): very cute, clean, and the people are unfailingly polite. And there was a karate dojo in my hotel! I think it's called “Thor's Hammer.”

The food in Reykjavik was so fresh, especially the fish. I didn’t try the sushi, but I’m sure it would have been amazing.

I made the big mistake of arriving in Reykjavik in shorts and later leaving the hotel without my winter coat. It was less that 10 degrees Celsius (in the 40s in Fahrenheit).



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb