RnR in Morahalom


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Southern Great Plain
July 14th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Vienna to Morahalom


Palinka time Palinka time Palinka time

With Csaba and his friend
Morahalom is a very small town in southern Hungary, population of about 5,000 and less than 10 kilometres from the Serbian border. It's a long way to come for some R n R! We are in Morahalom to meet up with our friend Csaba from home. Morahalom is Csaba's home town and we were very fortunate to stay at his brother's BnB - Petya Vendeghaz. Csaba is visiting his parents for a few weeks and also escaping the Canberra winter.

For my readers the name Csaba is loosely pronounced 'Chubba' or 'Chobba'. As a young university graduate Csaba moved from Hungary to Canberra a little over 10 years ago and met George soon after. I first met Csaba when I started working at Centrelink when he was a young cute Hungarian boy with a funny accent....he hasn't changed. Still love the accent.

Morahalom is a spa town...meaning there are mineral and thermal springs there, the water temperature in the pools is about 38 degrees. Hungary is well known for its spa towns. After our epic walking tour of Wien we all needed some RnR!

Csaba and his brother Zsolt were welcoming hosts and we were greeted with a traditional Hungarian drink called Palinka....apparently it is supposed to taste a little like apricot brandy...I'm not so sure as I couldn't taste anything, my lips were numb and my tongue was tingling as my throat was combusting and I fought the urge to throw up! Having said that, I also sampled another shot...I put It down to peer pressure. Uuugghh

The next morning we rode push bikes to visit Csaba's parents - Mr & Mrs Kispeter. As is typical in Hungary they still live in the family home that Csaba and his brother grew up in. Mrs Kispeter made us a lovely morning tea of a traditional Hungarian bread. The Kispeters have pigs and chooks in the backyard..... Imagine my delight when Mrs Kispeter went outside to return with a rooster to show us! (Said Cath not ever!!), I think I hid my bird phobia very well, quietly crouching on the chair, resisting hysteria ...pretty sure no one noticed! Mr & Mrs Kispeter, and I'm pretty sure anyone else in Morahalom don't speak English ...lucky we were with Csaba.

Csaba took us to the Wellness Centre to experience a Hungarian day spa. Wow, it was awesome, there were between 20 and 30 pools, indoors and out, water slides, wave pools. Some mineral spring pools, good for complaints like arthritis etc, these pools were largely occupied by older people. 38 degree brown pool....mmm so inviting! We all had a go on the water slide...and went for the best massage ever (Helen Welsh)... It cost about $20 oz. it was a great afternoon and just what we needed! Thanks Csaba!

Off to Budapest ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



16th July 2014

Morahalom
Thanks Cath for the great info. I appreciate it as you must be so tired at the end of your day to be sending a blog. But I'm sure everyone loves it. You all sound & look like your having the most wonderful time. Lots of love to you both. xxxx Bev
16th July 2014

Morahalom
Thanks Bev! I'm enjoying it but it is hard to find the time to keep writing as we've been so busy. It seems people are enjoying reading about our trip, so I will try and keep it up.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb