The Adventure of a Lifetime


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
June 29th 2014
Published: June 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've been slacking on blog posts, but I promise I will catch up eventually. Tomorrow I embark on what will probably be the biggest adventure of my life. I bought a Eurail Global Pass for 2 months that essentially gives me unlimited access to trains in 27 different countries for two months. I am starting in Rome and moving on from there.
There is no plan. I am alone. I have never been more excited for anything in my life.

I am couchsurfing as much as I can. It's a great way to meet people, see the local sides of cities, and save money. I have a couchsurfer lined up for Rome and then another afterwards in a small town in Italy called Terni. My mom and Darcy are going to be getting all of my couchsurfers' information.

Why am I doing this trip? Well, I love traveling. As I'm sure you've noticed by my blog. I had such an amazing time in Milan meeting people and exploring the city. I can't wait to do that again. I want to spend this summer writing, taking pictures, and exploring cities as well as myself. When I travel alone, I am constantly in my head and writing helps me get my thoughts out. I usually discover some pretty cool things along the way.

I also have a feeling that something big is going to happen. I don't know if it will be internal or external. I don't know if it will be as I go, or all at once. But I just have that feeling.

I'm also nervous and terrified and all sorts of emotions like that. It has nothing to do with being on my own. It has to do with the next six weeks being a blank page. Anything could happen on this trip. I could end up in any country in Europe. I could meet anyone. I have never done anything this spontaneous before, and that's what terrifies me. At the same time, the spontaneity is what is the most exciting. If I make friends, I can travel with them for a bit. I am alone, so I get to do what I want when I want. Who knows where I'll end up?

I will continue to blog this summer, but I won't be adding pictures until later. I have two memory cards with me, so I have all kinds of room for pictures.

Off I go!

Advertisement



29th June 2014

Have a great trip!
I remember my first Eurailpass trip just after graduating from high school in 1968...using Frommer's Europe on $5/day...I only spent $260 in 21 days. Things have changed! I strongly recommend that you post pictures as you go along...makes the blogs come alive...and as with your Ecuador blogs, sometimes it's just hard to come back to add them.
5th January 2016

Thanks for catching up on all your blogs...
and posting your pictures. I'm enjoying your trip through Asia.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb