Wednesday 31st August - 'When I say Buda, you say Pest! Buda' 'Pest' 'Buda' 'Pest'


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
August 31st 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

– The new rap Steve has made up... oh joy!
Today was a free day in Budapest. We were given train tickets the night before so we were able to head into town whenever we wanted. We decided to hang out with Tim and Carla again today. We headed up the hill to find the underground caves which we really didn't find (turns out they were closed anyway) and instead we went to find the Labirynth... which was also closed! We gave up eventually and Steve and Tim went to the 'House of Terror' and Carla and I went to have a massage and shop. It was my first ever massage and eventually we found a place for Thai massages... little did I know and little did Carla inform me that Thai massages are the most painful. The lady giving me my massage found about 5-7 knots in the top of each shoulder and when she located them she went for them good and proper. At one stage she had her full body weight behind her elbow digging it into my shoulder blades. The best part of the massage was when she sat me up, put my hands behind my head and bent my back around... my entire spine cracked the whole way down... it was gross but great! The it did the same again when she stretched me around the other way! I only had a half hour back massage but Carla had an hour long full body massage so I waited for her and attempted to read Hungarian catalogues. After our massages we raced to our new favourite shop, H&M and got a few things. We were meant to be meeting the boys outside the synagogy between 5-5.30... and time flies when you're having fun, we arrived at 5.45 but my cunning plan... I wound my watch back and when I arrived I said 'Wow 1 minute to spare!', only problem is that I am not very good at lying so I was caught out darnit!
For dinner we went and found the restaurant that had been recommended by our Tour leader, it was massive portions but delicious! Steve and Tim shared a local food called 'Goulash' and I had a pasta dish.
I think that is all that happened in our exciting day, caught the train home and that was our day!
Time is going super fast... we are pretty much half way through our time!
xx
So I just went to add some photos but apparently I have none! Sorry

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb