More Orientation and Paperwork


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we just had more orientation stuff in the morning, but we were done at 11:15 so we had the afternoon off. I swung by the central market on the way home to pick up some stuff for lunch and dinner. The place is huge and overwhelming, but I'm getting more comfortable there. It's a fairly touristy area, so most of the vendors either speak English or just point to things when they see that you don't speak Hungarian. We're just hanging out here this afternoon - our landlord came by and we signed our lease and did all that stuff. He recommended me to a great gym on the next street over, and I got a recommendation to another one by a sports guys from the school. I'll probably check those out tomorrow morning. I'm also probably going to go back over to the Buda side tomorrow so I can get pictures of the places I missed when my camera died on the sightseeing tour.

I also forgot to mention that yesterday we had our first real Hungarian meal - csirke paprikas, or chicken paprikash in English. It was basically two chicken thighs baked and covered with an oily and slightly creamy paprika based sauce. It is served over some kind of fluffy pasta. I'm probably going to try making it at home someday, but for now I know it will be good if I order it in a restaurant.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb