My first week in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My apartment buildingMy apartment buildingMy apartment building

Here's my apartment building. It is an older place with high ceilings, beautiful hardwood floors, giant windows....beautiful!
Well, it has been a week since I arrived here in Budapest to start my six-month volunteer position with Habitat for Humanity. It has been an interesting and exciting week...feels like I have been here much longer already (in a good way!). The trip to the airport went smoothly, thanks to Sarah and Melissa and Air Canada accepted my overweight luggage - good news. All of my things actually made it to Budapest with me and my friend/colleague Zsuzsa met me at the airport. We spent the day wandering the city. On Monday I got my keys and moved in to my apartment. The apartment is FANTASTIC!!!! (pictures to follow soonish) I am thrilled to be living here, right in the heart of the city. It is a great neighbourhood and only about 30 min. walk to work. My next-door neighbour is a Canadian named Sarah - she is a ballet dancer at the Opera House. Work began on Tuesday and everyone at the office is great. I am helping to coordinate volunteer teams coming into Hungary to work at the three affiliates. It is great because it will allow me to meet all sorts of interesting people. The weekend saw
My streetMy streetMy street

I really lucked out - my building is on a pedestrian street with many shops, cafes etc....it will be perfect as the weather gets warmer!
me taking some photos of my neighbourhood and new city, a night out with Sarah and a Sunday afternoon at a demonstration against air pollution. The move to Hungary has definitely been a good choice and I am LOVING living here. It is a huge change of pace from home and it is exactly what I needed. While I miss friends and family in Canada, this adventure will surely give me a new perspective and is already helping to re-charge my batteries. Enjoy the photos of the city...apartment and work stuff to follow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Opera HouseOpera House
Opera House

This is Budapest's gorgeous Opera House...it is at the corner of my street and Andrassy ut, the main boulevard on the Pest side.
Chain BridgeChain Bridge
Chain Bridge

The Chain Bridge is one of several connecting Buda and Pest. This is a view of Buda.
Buda CastleBuda Castle
Buda Castle

The river is only about a 20 min. walk from my place - what a treat!
ParliamentParliament
Parliament

Hungary's Parliament building is on the Pest side and is one of the most impressive and beautiful buildings, both inside and out.
St. Stephen's BasilicaSt. Stephen's Basilica
St. Stephen's Basilica

Also just a few minutes from my apartment.
Szabadsag terSzabadsag ter
Szabadsag ter

This beautiful square/park is a 10 min walk from my place - will be making full use of picnic potential once the weather warms up!


17th February 2008

OMG!!!!
It's AMAZING!!!! You absolutely made the right choice going to Budapest. I am so happy for you!!! I miss you so much but I'm glad you're settled in. Love the pictures!! Your apartment is exactly how I pictured it and so totally you!!! Love you tons.... see you Venice!! (fingers crossed) Megan
18th February 2008

These photos are amazing. Really makes me want to get back out there. I might be visiting Berlin in the summer. If I do I will hopefully make it out to Budapest, I'll let you know!
19th February 2008

Lovin it!
Ok, so this blog is freakin awesome! Great job! I also feel so special, i get to be in it too! I am soo cool. hahaha :P Im looking at the pics, and they are fabulous! I cant even recognize my own street. Keep it up, I am going to be checking constantly on news. WE should definitely take pics together this weekend! See you soon... like probably tomorrow! :) xoxo
8th March 2008

Memories
Brings back lots of memories from our trip this past summer. The neighborhood you live in looks fabulous! You're going to have an amazing 6 months. Have fun and enjoy each moment :-)

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb