Apartment and classes


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hotel roomHotel roomHotel room

This was my hotel room. You can compare and contrast it to my new bedroom. There will be a quiz on Thursday.
Hello Again everyone! I've been pretty busy lately trying to pick classes and move into my apartment, but I finally have some free time. Wonderfully enough our neighbors here in the sixth district have wireless Internet, without a password. So I am writing this while sitting in my new apartment. This place is WAY nicer than the hotel, and I am very excited to finally be living in a real house as opposed to a rowdy hotel room. I have my own room, and two roommates, Stacey and Paige who are sharing the other bedroom. Besides the two bedrooms we have a large living room, a laundry room, a bathroom with a bath tub and a nice kitchen. We are on the "third floor", which in Hungary actually means the fourth floor, and there is not an elevator. The stairs leading up here are actually quite nice however, as long as you aren't lugging a giant suitcase. I anticipate strengthening of my calf muscles.
My room came equipped with a queen size bed, a set of drawers and a large closet/shelf thing. It also has a nice window looking out onto the walkway to our front door. I bought a vase
Hotel windowHotel windowHotel window

This is the view from my hotel window. You can note the clear blue sky seen through the tree. The day before this we had a random freak cold/rainy day. Obvisouly this has since been fixed and we are back to sunny and hot. This tree is most likely the home of the katydids that entered my room previously.
at Ikea (Pronounce ik-ea here) and put a big daisy in it to try and work the feng shui of the room, we'll see how that works.
I have my classes for the semester picked out, and I'm really excited about them. I'm taking the intensive Hungarian language class which is an hour and a half four days a week, which is a little intimidating. Besides that I am taking a class called "Budapest, Prague and Vienna" which will look at these three cities and compare and contrast their history and development over the past century. This class includes a trip to Prague in November, and I will visit Vienna on my own as it is only about a half hour train ride from here, supposedly. I am also taking an art class that will focus on the Holocaust as seen through art. This class will have field trips to both the Terror museum and the statue park. I'm not sure if I mentioned the statue park before...I haven't been yet but I am really looking forward to it. The park contains basically all the communist statues from around Budapest. After 1989 they gathered all the statues and instead of
My new bedroomMy new bedroomMy new bedroom

This is my new room. In this picture I have yet to fully make my bed, the sheets were still hang drying in the other room. That bed? See it in the middle of the room? That's all mine. I also have other stuff in my room, but this is by far the most important.
ruining them because of what they represented, they put them in a park basically to recognize the past.So my art class will be visiting this park as well. The last class I am taking is an anthropology class which will focus on the Roma people of Budapest, also known as the gypsies. I missed the presentation for this class but apparently it was amazing and the class was way over enrolled. Lucky for me, I am an anthropology major so they can't kick me out. I will give you more details about these classes once they have started and I actually have something more to tell you about them.
So last night I went to a concert with my roommates and this girl we met named Andi. Andi is from Hungary and is going to school here in Budapest as well. The bands were pretty entertaining, but they all sang in English which was kind of weird. It is really interesting seeing what is "in" music wise here in Hungary compared to back at home. Also, the concert was 100 forints just to get in. 100 forints is about equal to 50 cents or so. I don't think I have
Living roomLiving roomLiving room

This is our living room. It is sooooo big. Lots of breathing room. The couch is most comfortable and the windows open with only a little difficulty. You might be able to see the Hungarian flag on the wall, this is because my new apartment is located in Hungary.
ever seen a live band for that little.
I am going to end here, but I will try and be back online again soon. I hope everyone is doing well!!! Happy birthday Papa!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

bathroombathroom
bathroom

This would be my new bath tub. After living for two years without one in the U.S. I finally had enough and left the country in search of one.
WindowWindow
Window

This is the window in my bedroom. It looks out on the walkway thing. I can open my windows. I am happy with this window, and I am planning on keeping it. My only issue, is that at night when my light is on everyone else in the building can see me. Since I don't enjoy random company in the middle of the night, I keep the windows closed and I don't turn on the light. My neon green flashlight is my new best friend.
Eating roomEating room
Eating room

This is where we eat our food. You cannot see the fridge in this, it is off to the right. It's no big loss as it is currently empty except for some random food that we cannot pronounce the names of. We also are a little afraid to eat it cause we don't know what it is. But I do know the word for cheese, which is "sajt".


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb