Let us all pray...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 16th 2007
Published: April 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

cc1cc1cc1

Chapel
This morning, Fred's coworker downloaded my pics and found a USB cord for me to use, therefore, I should be putting photos up for my entries....but back to the interesting stuff...
Owing to the late night prior, Fred and I overslept the 1/2-9 mass at Cave Church (for complete summary/history of chapel see: http://forteantimes.com/articles/210_budapest2.shtml). That was fine because they have 3 masses each day. Now, not being one who attends regularly (okay, RARELY...) I did not want to overextend myself and go to the 2 hour mass in the afternoon, so we got ready and walked over for the 11:00am service. Arriving early, we were able to find seats, not too far back and not too far forward, as tourists are not allowed during services and we did not want to be intrusive. (photo @ http://www.pbase.com/jenga/image/36144595 is MUCH better than I could've taken.)
Since I was raised Catholilc, I figured I could sit through a mass and actually participate...somewhat...as I can always participate when I do go to chirch...memory is a good thing! Boy was that an incorrect assumption. It is strange to hear something so familiar in a language so removed from your native tongue! As I tried to
cc2cc2cc2

Chapel 2
follow along, I would get that "I-should-know-what-comes-next" feeling, but when I tried to pull the words/phrases out of my memory banks, nothing would come! Even at the point that is so obviously the Lord's Prayer and the Apostle's Creed, no actual English words would surface. It was like trying to figure out a tune when another tune is being played on the radio. But about the actual mass...
As the service progressed, the closeness of the walls and the low ceilings gave a feeling of intimacy that I have never experienced in a church. The seats in the main sanctuary were full with about 1/3 of the space in the outer caves taken, as well. The light was electric and somewhat dim, although the altar was well lit. It really felt somewhat subversive...like the people were sneaking in to practice a forbidden religion. I could imagine what it might feel like when people practice a religion against the wishes/laws of a government (minus the fear factor, of course.) In the people, I witnessed familiar behavior from various parishoners...the ones who gave up 'good seats' to elderly folk and those who steadfastly held on to their seat, even when it was
cc3cc3cc3

Chapel 3
apparent that they should move over one so that a couple could sit together;the ones who welcomed strangers at the "sign of peace" and the one who looked questionsingly and withheld their hand. People are still people, no matter where you are...As we filed out after 'being enlightened' into the sunlight it felt pretty metaphorical. I am glad that I went...Fred was very glad I brought him along, as well.
We then took a hike up and over the Citadel and back to the hotel so that Fred could go to work (that is why he is here, afterall.) I spent the rest of the day downloading job postings and then reviewing them while sitting in the sun. Fred and Jonathan knocked off work around 7:30 and we headed out to Taj Mahal Etterem (a taxi ride, address: Szondi Utca 40) for Indian food. OH-MY-GOSH! It was deeeeeeeelicious! And reasonably priced. We will be going back on Thursday for our final dinner before we go home. I know we should probably experiment at a new place everyday,. but I tell ya...I don't think I have had better Indian food in the States. They served dishes from both Northern and Southern
cc4cc4cc4

Chapel 4
India, all perfectly spiced. It was one of the first times I actually broke a sweat while eating. Dinner took a while and getting the bill took the same amount of time, but we figured we needed some time to digest before bed (spicy food+sleep not always a good combo.) Another late night, but well worth it...Ei



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

cc5cc5
cc5

Chapel 5


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb