Day Five


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
March 17th 2011
Published: March 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Budapest

This morning it was raining when we woke up. And it kept raining. All day. We stayed in for most of the morning and then went to the market to have lunch and poke around a bit again. We had the langos! With sour cream and cheese. It was pretty good but SUPER filling. I could not eat it all, I ate like half. It was busy in the prepared food section at that time. So it was a bit difficult to find a seat, but we did in the end!

Today was a bit of a bust again in the visiting Parliament aspect. All the tickets we gone when we got there. Again. But at least we didn't walk all the way there to be disappointed. We took the metro. It was also raining. Pouring rain. All day. So we got wet. But that's okay. We just walked across the Chain bridge into Buda. Buda is very hilly. To see the neat stuff you have to go to the top of a really big hill. We didn't feel like walking up, and then Evan spotted this machine thing that takes you up the hill with a nice view of the river. So we hopped on that. It was pretty neat. You'll see what I'm talking about when I get the chance to put the pictures up!

We walked through the same streets we did on Revolution day over there, but today they weren't near as crowed! We went into Saint Matthias church. WE would have gone when we were there the first time but it was closed. It was really nice. Every inch of the inside was painted! It was lovely. We had to pay to get in though. I think it is silly to have to pay to go inside of a church. A house of God. However. It was really nice to be out of the rain. After that, we pretty much we just really cold and wet. So we walked back. We were going to try to get into the Inner City Parish Church, but it was closed. Due to construction I think. That was disappointing. It is the oldest church in Budapest.

After the second fail of the day, we went back to the market and got sausages for supper. They were really expensive. It was interesting trying to order them because the guy did not speak English well at all. We also got some cake. We brought them back to the hostel and watched Up while we waited. It was a good movie! But, it was burned onto a disk and therefore was not the best quality. Also, whenever there was writing in the movie, ex. they showed you a cover of a book or a note someone wrote etc, it was randomly in Russian. So I don't know what they said or why they were significant. Had to guess. Evan had seen it before and gave me the gist of what was happening. It was okay though.

After the movie, I had a nap. It was a nice nap. Then me and Evan played cards etc and looked at our pictures. I was originally going o just go to bed and not blog tonight, but all the bathrooms are taken. Which was a drag. I hope the people get out soon because I need to pee and want to brush my teeth and stuff. Evan is sitting next to me with his toothbrush sticking out of his mouth because he is in the same predicament. Only he brought his toothbrush in here with him.

There are also some Asians in this room right now. They are watching something on a laptop right now. With music playing out loud. In some language I don't know. And it is clashing with the Hungarian radio which is also playing. It is annoying. They should just turn the radio off. Or listen with headphones. Oy vey.

I hope that my coat and shoes are dry in the morning. And also that it doesn't rain again. And also that there are tickets when we go again to parliament. And no, you can't buy the tickets the day before, we asked. Same day only. They go on sale at 8am. The guard guy told me all this and some other stuff in french because he was more comfortable speaking french. And I understood everything he said! I was so proud of myself.

Anyway, I am probably going to try to brush my teeth now. The people here are always either hogging the computers or the bathrooms! It is annoying. But such is life. I hope that everything is awesome wherever you are! Have a nice day. Oh, and happy St. Patrick's day!

Cheers,
Beth.

Advertisement



17th March 2011

Hey Miss
I, too, am proud of you - and that you understood everything the guard said to you in french is just icing on the cake. I take it you conversed back and forth with him to find out what you wanted to find out.

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb