Settled in...sort of....


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest » Visegrad
July 23rd 2011
Published: July 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, things have been crazy for the past month, as friends and family well know. My life in Canada has been up-rooted and I'm now officially living in Europe - crazy!

I started the summer with a two-week Habitat for Humanity build with some of my high school students. We started and ended in Budapest, but did the actual construction in Beius, Romania. It was an amazing experience and I am so thankful it all went smoothly. For anyone who is considering slightly more off-the-beaten-path travel, I can highly recommend the area of Romania I was in.....beautiful countryside and mountains and the people were just wonderful!

After Romania, and a couple of days of recovery in Budapest, I went to the Netherlands, which will be home for the next few years. It was an intense week of getting various documents and passes taken care of, finalzing insurance for home and car, setting up phone, internet etc etc. Yesterday, at 8am, a beautiful orange container was driven to my house and all my belongings were unloaded. I spent the day unpacking boxes and trying to find a place for everything. It was great to see the place taking shape and slowly beginning to feeel like home. I can't wait to actually get to kick back and enjoy it! Yesterday in the late afternoon a BBQ was held for all of the newcomers and it was a pretty wonderful experience, meeting all of the people who will be my community, my friends and my family for the next few year.

I was finally in bed by 1am, with bags packed for an early departure to Budapest today. I'm back in one of my all-time favorite cities, ready to greet my second Habitat team of the summer - this time a group of adults. We will build in Oradea Romania at the Caminul Felix orphanage, as well as in Beius Romania. Can't wait to see everyone, though right now I'm just excited about getting a good night's sleep.

😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb