The Ski Trip


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thessaly
February 26th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

February 15th
We went skiing in Hania, Greece which is about 45 minutes north of Volos. We woke up really early in the morning and the first thing I thought was.. “good God, what made this a good idea?” We got on the bus and rode the way up the mountain. It was so neat to see the higher that we went the more snow we would see, I mean I knew this would happen but it was just cool to see it happen right before my eyes. When we arrived we stepped off the bus to see that the snow was stacked up taller then me!! We walked right into the ski shop and began renting our skis and I found the cutest hat…so I had to buy it! Don’t be mad mom, its really cute and I will wear it again, you will see it in the pictures.

Finally once all 12 of us were done renting our skis and snowboards we headed toward the mountain. Well they failed to inform me that we would be walking about a mile, up hill. And did I mention that while there was a TON of snow on the ground it was about 40 degrees outside so with all my layers on, it got a little warm. We finally got to wear we could begin skiing…and it was a bit of a mess for me! I couldn’t go straight, I couldn’t stop, I had to scream ‘signomi’ (excuse me) the whole way down until the lifts. Once we got to the lifts, it was another mess - Kate one of the girls we were with was telling me to hurry up and get next to her - well how do you hurry in skis, I mean come on really? So that didn’t work, the lift pretty much attacked me, I lost a ski and Kate was sitting on my ski pole, so I was just one big mess. Except for I was hysterically laughing at this point and once we got to the top of the mountain the guy in front of us fell off the left, and I followed! It was so bad they had to stop the lift. I was no longer laughing at this point; it was more along the lines of “how the hell am I going to get back down this mountain?” So I took both
Kate and I skiingKate and I skiingKate and I skiing

I look like I am doing pretty good, but I am really not!
my skis off and sat down in the snow and finally worked up enough courage to go down the hill. I did well, until I saw a huge decline in front of my and I freaked out so I just sat down. Finally I found some hills that were Cecily size and I did pretty well. It started out being a pretty rough day, but by the end of it, it was a blast and I was so glad I was there. And on top of that, when you rode the lift and turned around and looked behind you, you could see the ocean, it was amazing and I wasn’t too bad of a skier!

After we all met up again we walked back down the mountain and returned our skis and sat in a café until the bus came to take us home. It was about an hour before we arrived so I drank so hot chocolate and laughed at everyone’s embarrassing stories of the day! On the drive home the sun was setting as we rode down the mountain and it was such a gorgeous view (this is also in the pictures). Once we finally got home
not being able to stop!not being able to stop!not being able to stop!

I look okay but i am screaming I CANT STOP!
I showered and went to bed to wake up to the most sore I had been in a long time. And it wasn’t just my legs or just my arms, it was my entire body! I decided that staying in bed all day was probably the best choice so I read for most of the day to go back to sleep again. All and all the trip was totally worth it even though I was so completely sore the next day!



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

This how i stopped!This how i stopped!
This how i stopped!

I would just sit down!
my restmy rest
my rest

I decided to take a rest and the trees we really pretty!
The group!The group!
The group!

This was everyone that went skiing/ snowboarding
my restmy rest
my rest

I decided to take a rest and the trees we really pretty!


Tot: 0.482s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb