Rainbow Dawn and Walk to Fira in Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
October 21st 2014
Published: October 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I awoke before dawn and was treated to what I can only describe as a rainbow dawn. At the horizon was a layering of color above the Aegean and the city of Oia. Skaros, ever present before our balcony, appeared to be waiting patiently anticipating the full rise of the sun. It was the beginning of another sporadically windy day in Imerovigli. Our breakfast server, Marinos, didn’t disappoint us; he is always entertaining when he shows up.

Deke wanted to take it easy again. Sometimes, I miss Deke when I embark upon an excursion out when he wants to stay in. I have come to think of our times together and our times apart as, “the dance of together and away.” We seem to do this dance better than most, but it still takes a measure of skill.

I walked back into Fira and was treated to a gorgeous view as the last time. I of course managed to take a wrong turn, and took a cab a short way into the main square. I explored the shops further, but did not purchase anything; I think that Deke has been happy with my overall satisfaction without purchases. My mother, “Mamma S,” says that I am “satisfied with beauty.”

Upon Anne Marie’s suggestion at Astra Suites, I went into the Catholic cathedral in Fira. As one might imagine, there are not many Catholic churches here. It was beautiful, and there was an eerie and lovely statue of Saint Theresa, which caught my attention.

Deke wanted a gyro for dinner so I stopped by the restaurant, Aegean again and got Deke an order to go. Deke obtained some videos from Astra Suites, and we watched “The Guns of Navarone.” It takes on a different feeling when you are actually in Greece when you watch it. The night before, we watched “My Big Fat Greek Wedding.” This also takes on a different meaning when you’re here.

Regarding my further study of Aristotle, I came across another passage in Book IV of Ethics regarding wealth, which held my interest:

To sum up then. Since Liberality is a mean state in respect of the giving and receiving wealth, the Liberal man will give and spend on proper objects, and in proper proportion, in great things and in small alike, and all this with pleasure to himself; also he will receive from in right sources, and in right proportion: because, as the virtue is a mean state in respect of both, he will do both as he ought, and, in fact, upon proper giving follows the correspondent receiving, while that which is not such is contrary to it.

It is interesting to me that Aristotle views the ultimate utilization of wealth to be a “mean” state. All should be in balance for Aristotle.

I am a woman of fewer words today, but no less content.

Yasas,



Monique


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb