Is this for real?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Santorini along with hundreds of other tourists. We approached the island through the caldera while everyone snapped photos. This place is like a dream. Is this for real? Perched high upon the caldera rim appearing to defy gravity, or at the very least, just waiting for gravity to do its work and pull the whole town of Fira into the sea. But it stays, thankfully, for the tourists.

It's hard to describe the mob scene as we departed the ferry boat. Hundreds of people rushing forwards all with packs, suitcases, roller suitcases, motorcycles. We are at the base of the cliff, dramatically announcing itself as a shear wall of volcanic rock, layered red, black, and grey. I walk into the crowd of domatia, those raptious owners of pensions who want us to stay at their place. I approached one man, he said his place is in town. Lonely Planet says to be warned that some are not. 40 euros a night, more expensive than Naxos, but this is Santorini. I bargined 100 euros for three nights. Imagine that, I struck a deal with someone!?

He drove my up the steep cliff face with many many switchbacks. The only traffic on the road goes up after the ferry arrives. He only managed to seduce me into staying at his place, no one else. After about a 20 minute climb and drive in the van we arrived. This place is really nice: air con, a mini-fridge, my own bathroom, TV (it's all Greek to me), and a balcony looking onto another building. Remember, caldera views are two to three times the price, restaurants and hotels. I can walk to the rim of the volcano in 1 minute.

I am so excited to be in Santorini, ever since seeing this place as a youth I've wanted to visit. It's so photogenic. Is this for real?



Advertisement



12th July 2006

As real as it gets
Santorini really has a spiritual feeling to it. Take it all in. It must be like Mecca for someone interested in geology.
12th July 2006

Can't wait to see photos!
Nice to be able to read about your trip as it happens. Any chance you'll be able to upload some pictures? Have a great time and be safe.

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 123; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb