My Big Fat Greek Cruise: Santorini (my fav)


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
October 18th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ohhh, Santorini!.....my favorite of the Greek Isles we visited. I could definitely hunker down here for a long while. Santorini, again, has most of the villages perched high up on the top of the cliff. It has seaside vineyards, a volcano,ancient ruins, great little restaurants. We only had enough time to do a fast run-through, so I definitely would love to return and explore it properly. We took a very modern, fast cable car to the top...and a very slow, smelly donkey back down to the port at the end of our visit (a decision I regretted the second I climbed on). Probably the longest 30 minutes of my life. The donkey trail zig-zagged straight down the cliff in a series of very steep stairs. The donkeys didn't appear to be paying an enourmous amount of attention to their task and I was certain that I was going to fall right off and land on my noggin in the Aegean. Truly, it wasn't that horrible, just a whole lot less romantic than it initially appeared...
Make sure to hit "next" or "page 2" to make sure you see all of the pictures on this blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

cable car: Santorinicable car: Santorini
cable car: Santorini

view looking out of the cable ride up Santorini...you can see the cruise ship in the background
oh, rub the belly!oh, rub the belly!
oh, rub the belly!

look at those two dogs getting their bellies rubbed, while Nate is in buying Ouzo
SantoriniSantorini
Santorini

Abby looks like she is plucking that olive right out of her nose. She picked that Olive off the tree and is so proud of herself.
Papoo DougPapoo Doug
Papoo Doug

make sure to hit "next" below to see more pictures of Santorini.....


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb