There is a Starbucks in Heaven...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
June 30th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello to one and all,
It is day two of our Mykonos excursion, and the place is still beautiful. I just have to get a little rant out of the way first. I'm sad to report that our campground is NOTHING like the amazing ones in Italy, not in the slightest. We are paying 40 euros a night for a dirty, shitty beach cabin with no A/C, its a little brutal. However it is on a cliff right near the beach, so that is really nice. I just beg to ask the question, would you prefer a view or a good nights sleep... Its a bit tough to swallow seeing as we paid 30 euros in santorini for a room with kitchenette, balcony, ensuite, A/C.... ouch.
This aside, Mykonos is still beautiful, however those coming here, pay the extra to get A/C. Its very necessary. To remedy the no sleep thing/spider heebe jeebes I have proposed to Dan that we first try to find another place, or upgrade. But for tonight at least we have bought a tetra pack of wine (yes a 1 litre tetrapack, like OJ), drink it, and if passing out doesn't happen, bring on the gravol!!!! (always works) Then it doesn't matter how many spiders climb on me, I'll sleep no matter what! (hopefully). Wow its kind of sad that I need that an elaborate plan for sleeping, but its better than being cranky in Mykonos!

So today we chilled on the beach. So many nice chairs, great music, lots of boobs, and lots of penises too. Something for everyone! We were some of the first people there so we got chairs right at the front of the sand. The water was so clear, again (I love the greek seas), so refreshing, so wonderful. And apparently full of pretty fishes, so says Dan. Tomorrow is VESPA DAY! You have to have at least one vespa day on each island to explore. So we will get to see more beaches, and even more penises cause the gay beach is only 2 beaches away! And yes we are totally going there, we've heard its an experience and a half. All the guys around here are the ripped gay ones, pretty much, so they are nice to look at! Only in Mykonos... isn't it swell?!
The day after is our last day. No plans yet... another beach chill day?? Tough life eh? White sand, blue water, no clouds, yup I can handle this. I've just seen that our campground may have upgrades for apartments with A/C, we are going to look into it. The upgrade is for another 10 euros per person, but I think its a sacrifice I'm willing to make. We are staying with family in the UK for 2 weeks-ish, so that will make up for the money spent.
So thats it for now, hopefully we will blog later, unskathed (vespa, but we always wear helmets), and happy. We are going to try and add more photos now. We are at a cheap internet place.
Love to all
robyn and dan

PS I have not seen a Starbucks since Berlin... I saw one here on a random road... not even in the main town!!! Yes I let Nickie know, and yes we both think its quite sad.

Advertisement



2nd July 2006

YAY FOR HOT PEOPLE
I guess im gonna visit Mykonos for sure when I go to europe!!! thanks for the heads up!!!

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb