Catch up on Mykonos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
May 16th 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mykonos SunsetMykonos SunsetMykonos Sunset

Not a bad view.
From Turkey, I took a 2 hr ferry to Samos, Greece, spent the day walking around the town and then boarded a ferry to Mykonos. Known as the party island and gay man's haven, it was the starting point of my kick back, time to relax and get a tan portion of my trip.

I met Sarah, from London, on my ferry and we ended up staying at the same hotel and hung out for the next couple days. Rented scooters and toured the beaches of the island.

Mykonos - I loved it. Wish I stayed longer now. But if it was high season, I'm quite positive I would hate being there. Great beaches. Cute little streets. If you want to know what a mouse feels like in a maze, walk through the streets of Mykonos. (I'm sure the big guy upstairs was laughing at Sarah and I every time we made a turn and made a 2 minute walk a 15 minute journey). Can you say expensive!?? Jeesh, every designer shop is in Mykonos, and sunscreen costs about $20!

The last night, when Sarah and I were doing circles in the maze trying to get back to
My Travel BuddyMy Travel BuddyMy Travel Buddy

Sarah and I for a night on the town.
our hotel, we stumbled upon an art gallery and the owner was outside having a drink. We went in and he showed us his beautiful art collection. Then he somehow started talking about finding your passion in life and being lucky enough to find his passion for art and bring it back to his home town to share it with others and to make a living out of it. We walked out and Sarah said, "That was for you." :-)




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SuperParadiseSuperParadise
SuperParadise

Yes, that is the name of the beach. These boats take you to the different beaches, but we chose quad scooters instead.
P.O.U.SP.O.U.S
P.O.U.S

Pelicans Of Unusual Size. The mascot of Nikos Tavern (and he doesn't beg for food like the cats!)


31st May 2006

Christy--You look like you're having the most amazing time! Turkey looks absolutely fantastic and the story of the little girls was so touching. Greece also looks very beautiful and restful. make sure to take lots of minivacations during your travels! xoxox Roze. P.S. It's a girl!
1st June 2006

The view!
Honestly, the view of the island is like a dream...
1st June 2006

Christy, Love all the stories of your travels, it sounds like you are having an amazing time!!! I am so proud of you!!! The story about finding your passion gave me chills, I think that moment will stay with you forever!! Your pictures are beautiful, they are giving me the inspiration to plan a trip to Europe. Keep the pictures and info coming, it is so fun to live vicariously through you!!!
2nd June 2006

You made it!
I loved that island. Unlike you, I could only stay for the day - thus missing the great nightlife. I still believe that the waters are amazing in that part of the world. Loved the 'art dealer' story.
19th June 2006

GORGEOUS shots christy!
WOW! These photos are really beautiful. Copyright was a smart idea. Looks like soo much relaxation and just fun!

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 126; dbt: 0.1559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.3mb