Taking a chance


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
January 2nd 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me on the ferryMe on the ferryMe on the ferry

Doesn't my hair look great?!? I think I'm going to keep this look. Now it's just a matter of finding the right styling product.
I'm on the ferry! I know, you thought from my last entry that I would have been up to something else since I said that I couldn't find accommocation. How wrong you were! Why should I let a pesky thing like having somewhere safe to sleep keep me from seeing an idyllic Greek island? Ok. I agree with that, but I'm doing it anyway.

I was up at 6:15am this morning in order to take the Metro back to Pireas. The ferry left on time at 7:35am and is due to arrive in Mykonos at 1:45pm. It's a long journey especially when I've already read all the English language books I brought with me (two) and the other one that I bought in the British bookshop in Vienna. I'm down to impossibly easy crosswords and writing down my to do list--which is something I definitely should NOT be doing while on holiday. I'm just hoping that my mp3 player holds out for me. We just pulled into Syros for some people (it looks like the majority) to disembark. (Odd sidenote: I have seen and heard the words debark and/or disbark used as the opposite to embark. Somehow, I just don't
The Blue Star FerryThe Blue Star FerryThe Blue Star Ferry

I wish I could figure out why it's the "blue star" line and they have an orange star painted on the boat.
think that's quite right. That's what happens when translation happens.) It's a very nice little island with the nice "little" town of Ermoupoli--it's the largest town on any of the islands and is the capital of the archipelago.

When I get to Mykonos Town--in an hour and 45 minutes--my first point of business is to see if I can finda place to stay. My guide book (circa February 2002) says that a barrage of people usually wait at the port to see if people need a room. I know, it's a bit sketchy, but then again, what part of my trip hasn't been. I do have a back-up plan though, you'll be pleased to learn. I'm on the Blue Star ferry Superfast II. It doesn't allow me to return to the mainland until tomorrow (ideal if I find a place to sleep). There's another company, Hellenic Seaways, that has a ferry leaving tonight at 10:30pm and arriving back in Athen's port of Pireas at 4:30am. Means I could sleep a bit on the boat and then turn back up at the hostel where I stayed the past three nights and get a room for the rest of the night. We shall see what happens. No matter what, I won't be sleeping rough (British for "on the streets").

Advertisement



21st February 2006

blue star
laughing out loud (can you hear me) about the blue star/orange star boat! I like seeing the pics of you! Nice hair.:)
21st February 2006

HaHa!
You need your own comedy show!!! You could be the next reality TV sensation!

Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb