Day 31


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 7th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 31

8:30am I woke up to skype my boyfriend since today was considered a ‘rain day’ from the forecast, our prof decided to hold off on digging until Monday. So I had a restful and well-needed sleep in day! As we were talking the clouds lifted and the sun came out just outside my window. It was a great way to kick off our off-day. At about 11:30pm his time we said our goodnights and he went to sleep; while I just started my day. This 10 hr time difference is still so strange! I’ve gotten used to it, but it’s still sometimes so amazing that I’m a whole 10 hours ahead!

After our convo I lazed around my place and got ready for the day. Isabelle and I were planning on going out today and hunt for good cafes to write our exam tomorrow morning. I eventually changed into tights and a tank top; it was a beautiful day today…so much for a rain day, but the day off was still very much appreciated! I forgot that the cleaning lady comes on Thursdays too, so when she came in I was just on my computer and changed. I moved my things outside onto my patio so she could quickly change my towels and replace them (it’s all she does on Thursdays, on Mondays and Tuesdays she fully cleans all our washrooms, changes our bed sheets and towels and mops the hallways). About 20 minutes after I moved out there, Lisa and Jen came out with some coffee on Lisa’s patio next door and we talked for a little bit. Isabelle came down just after 11am and we all talked and planned how we’re going to write our Greek review exam tomorrow.

At about 11:45am Isabelle and I headed out into town to search out a good café with food, good internet connection, open early and with lots of outlet plugs for our computers. We looked through a few cafes open along the beach boardwalk, checked out a few that our prof recommended for the best internet connection, and we eventually stumbled upon the BEST little café that we’ve been getting our crispy spanikopitas. I was walking around with my iTouch internet searcher out and as we walked closer to the café/bakery it got stronger and it so happens that the internet is EVEN stronger inside where the outlets are!! :D It’s a great find and the best part is that they’re open at 6am, so our 8am plan of writing the exam will work out great! AND we can get write our exam in the comfort of smelling fresh baked goods and eating some pastries as we write our exam in a group tomorrow!

We grabbed some pastries and headed back to the apartments to change and hit the beach! Lisa stayed with Isabelle and I at the beach for an hour or so, then she left to take a shower and get a nap in before Argostoli. At about 3:30pm we headed back to the apartments, I showered and quickly made a sandwich with the leftover meat and cheese I had left in my fridge. Then Isabelle was over by 4:45pm and we headed to the bus by the dock. Vasilis drove us at 5pm Argostoli for another shopping and grocery shopping trip. We had 1 hour and a half at the souvenir and clothing stores; where Isabelle, Lisa and I rushed to a souvenir shop where I bought myself a bag, then ‘Asia Market’ where I found a really cute jacket for 25 EU, and the girl at the counter threw in a free nail polish. Then we rushed back to the meeting spot with 15 mintues to spare so we checked the electronic store for some of their needs, and Isabelle and I grabbed an ice cream for dinner and as a reward for successful shopping.

At 7:30pm we headed back to the bus and Vasilis drove us to the big Carrefour grocery store about 10 minutes drive away from the shopping district. We spent a good hour there and I bought over 75 EU worth of groceries and some souvenirs. At 9pm we headed back to Poros and got back to the apartments just after 10pm. We all unloaded our purchases and I had to make 2 trips to my apartment with all my loot; in total I had 5 bags of groceries and a pack of 50mL waters. I chowed down on some cookies and juice that I bought from the Carrefour and drifted off into a really well-needed sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb