Day 28


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 4th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Day 28

I got up later today; 7am. I was super tired, and since it was the beginning of my time-of-the-month, then I figured I deserved a sleep-in day. But that kind of bit me in the ass because I was pretty rushed to get ready. Thankfully I packed my lunch the night before and just had to throw it all in now with my frozen water bottle. I got down to the docks on time, and we headed to the site just after 7:30am.

Today a trench buddy and I started to work with Isabelle and her trench member on the burial we found the week before. We joined as one group and started to excavate around the pithos container. As we got closer and closer to the pithos our prof would come by to see how we were doing and help us where he saw we needed it. We discovered, that as we tried to unveil the mouth of the pithos, there was a large stone slate where the mouth should be. We aren’t sure what it means yet, but there was also roof tile covering it; which means that the roof tile might not have been used to cover the mouth, but to decorate the covering for some reason? So since there was so much work to be done, and our prof hadn’t gone over our journal entries in a while, we all decided that it would be best to meet before our Greek review class at 5pm and do some notebook entries at 4:30 as a new trench group.

The day went by fast; we continued to excavate and took down the barrier between our two trenches separating the pithos. I know Isabelle doesn’t like it, but 2/3 of the pithos is in our trench; she was afraid that this would mean she wouldn’t be able to help with the excavation, but I think it’s better now that we’re all sharing (without the self-centered girls in my trench. They’re actually having to do all the manual labor now that me and the other nice girl are working on this new burial). When we drove back to the apartments, Isabelle and I decided to hit the beach before our 4:30pm meeting. We made salads in my room with garlic bread and boiled an egg for protein (we’re generally pretty hungry after the dig, even with having had lunch at 10:30) and I actually had less than half the egg! I’m pretty proud of myself and I think I might start to gradually ease myself back into eating just a little bit of egg some time. After our meal, we brought all our Greek and trench stuff down to the beach and took a nap. At 4pm I had to go back to the classroom to meet with my original trench group and do some notebook entries with our prof. At 4:30pm Isabelle and Melanie came to join Sarah and I to work on our burial notebooks. The other 2 girls in our trench group stayed, and the super keener took down notes for our trench too (even though only Sarah, Isabelle, Melanie and I will be writing stuff up for the final paper on ‘Burial A14’). Right after we finished with our notebooks, Greek review started as everyone else came in at the end of our notebook session. Class lasted till about 6:30pm. We reviewed unit 4 and prepared for our first review exam this Friday.

After class the Glee fans all decided to meet back at Steph’s at about 7:15pm to watch the most recent episode of Glee. As usual, everyone wasn’t there till about 7:45; but then we watched it while eating some chocolate (some girls have been buying chocolate like there’s no tomorrow and eat till their hearts content…sometimes it’s not even their chocolate :S Isabelle and I accept small squares, but we’re trying not to buy it ourselves). At about 9pm I said my goodnights and headed to my room to make my lunch for tomorrow and sleep early! I was exhausted and skyped with my boyfriend, again, until I went to bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb