Day 12


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 19th 2010
Published: September 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 12

I skyped my family and boyfriend at about 7am, then went back to sleep till 10. I was pretty tired from the week and needed a good sleep. When I woke up again, I went onto the patio to see if Lisa was awake and take down my swim stuff (we’ve been going to the beach for a good few hours everyday so far!); luckily she was awake, so we decided to get ready for the day and grab Isabelle and Jen. We all went down to grab some filo pastry lunch at the bakery, while stopping by some souvenir shops along the way. I bought some souvenirs for my extended family and my mom; I hope she likes it because I sure do! At the bakery I had a cheese pie which is just like a spanikopita but with just feta cheese, it was SO yummy and super fresh! I was craving the spanikopita, but Lisa took the last piece today. Either way I had the chance to try something different and it was delicious too! After lunch we went grocery shopping at the store across the bridge and the fresh produce market. I offered to make fried rice for dinner tonight, so we all pitched in and bought some ingredients; Kikoman soy sauce (yes we’re surprised they had it too), onions, green peppers, green onions, garlic, rice, eggs, ham and carrots. In total I spent about $10 euro for a week’s worth of groceries and dinner for that night. Since we had bought dairy, we decided to go back to our place ASAP after our shopping.

It was a hot walk back, so we decided to change, sunscreen and hit the beach! We stayed there for about a good 2-3 hours, I went for 2 dips in the water and it was really refreshing. Our prof dropped by to give us some information on the boat ride (it was sold out, but our bus driver Vasili and his buddies were working on a plan to get us another one…possibly free! He’s such a sweet old man) and mentioned that he would be going to a karaoke club that night with our TA and the pharmacist in Skala. Since it was also a girl in our program’s birthday, she wanted to go and celebrate there that night too. So he made arrangements for a few taxis to pick up the group at Pantielli’s at 9pm. My small group of 6 never ended up going, but they gave us the rest of her birthday cake to share as a desert.

When we got back from the beach, 3 of us decided to go for a run before dinner since it was cooling down now. It was a nice leisurely run, with breaks in between, but it was a good warm up. I think I might start going regularly…or when the others go. After the run, we all showered and changed into comfy clothes for dinner. Isabelle and I started on the fried rice, as the others helped to cut the veggies and prep a mango, tomato and cucumber salad to add to dinner. We ate around 7:30pm, I don’t think anyone accomplished doing any Greek that night, but we’ve still got Sunday before we start a new unit on Monday. I finished the day off by skyping with my boyfriend; my legs were pretty eaten up and itchy with bug bites, so I didn’t go out for a night walk with everyone else. Instead I stayed in, skyped with my boyfriend and got a great long night’s sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb