Crete


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Rethymno
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have booked an overnight ferry from island of Rodos to the island of Crete. It was supposed to take 12 hours. Due to choppy seas it took us 16 hours to reach our destination. After 16 hours on choppy sea I felt like a drunk sailor. Even on land I still thought things were rocking for good 6 hours after the ride.
😞
not the best experience, but here I am ...The biggest island in Greece. Crete

I arrived in Heraklion, the biggest city on the island. It is a big, dirty city, with nothing to offer. To fix that I headed straight to the bus station and took the bus to the smaller city of Rethymnon. It is a smaller city with a nice beach on the western side of the island. It is still big enough that is busy with tourists. It has many bars, a few clubs and tons of caffes and tourist shops.

I found a room at the Youth Hostel for 8 euros a night. On top of that the manager running the hostel is Serbian from Nis. What a coincidence. He said I was the first serb to visit the hostel. He was glad to have me. On the first night, him, his wife and brother and myself went out to a great little bulgarian restaurant that is not a tourist trap, but offers great food at the great price. All 4 of us ate well and had some vine and beer and the bill came to 20 euros. :P

I am using Rethymnom as a base to explore the island. I have made my way to south city of Plakias and the famous Preveli beach. I liked the beach so much, that I went there again 2 days later.
It is 1.5 hours by bus away from Rethymnom. On top of that, you get dropped off at the highway edge and have to climb down a set of around 300 stairs and than some more to reach this beach. But the view from the top is amazing. And once you reach the bottom....The oasis...
The beach is located at the mouth of the river that feeds fresh water into the Lybian Sea.
The surrounding area is all bare rock, but next to the river a lush green belt hugs the river. Palm trees, bamboos, green bushes...what a nice sight. (see pictures)

The city of Rethymnom also has an old fortress from the venetian times. It overlooks the city and offers views in all directions.
From here I will also visit the city of Hania further to the west, and if time permits reach the west coast beaches as well.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



27th July 2007

I see that guy everywhere!
He goes to all the raves here in Vancouver

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0827s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb