Almost there


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Heraklion
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi folks - afraid this will be the last message as the adventure is almost over. I really have had a whale of a time. Left Palermo last night, possibly my favourite place. Full of classical architecture decorated with statues, like Rome without the ampitheatre, but with the same drivers....you have to witness Italian drivers to believe it. No Mafia apparent but Judy (the lady I mentioned meeting, born in Italy) tells me they're there all right below the surface. They really to appear in Trilbys and shut the street down to deal with business! Judy is a romany gypsy employed as a tarot reader and to chat to passengers ( the real thing, she's used by the police to solve crimes). Perhaps she saw me coming? She lives on the Isle of Wight and loves Brighton so I hope we'll meet up.
The city is surrounded by mountains from which Carrerras can be heard singing opera to the masses ( joke, but you half expect him!), magic somehow, like the bay of Naples. Made better by the company. Sorry about the lack of photos, it will have to wait until I meet someone at home with a brain, to help me! I'll publish the lot then. Also thanks for the comments, glad to know I'm not a complete bore - I'll try & respond if there's time.
Well, the Bee Gees performance was great, with their syrups on they looked the real thing. Anyone can sing like that (try it!), but they really looked the part, even old Maurice back from the dead. The music is familiar but don't think its easy to play. It is not..... just one fluff I think I got away with... at least they talked to me afterwards.. I seem to have been well accepted as one of the team. With luck I'll be able to push for more work, the next cruise schedule includes Istanbul, Venice, Cairo - I've just missed out on a crew trip on Saturday to see the pyramids & that funny lion thing. One more show tonight, by all artists on board (more singing chickens & big hair) then sunny Gatwick teatime Thursday.
What a super time
Take care
D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb