Day 11


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Lamia
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

What can I say about my day today? I missed a phone call from my Thea Voula, when I called back my Theo Lambro answered and said "you will come over for lunch today at noon". It wasn't even a question, just a demand (not in a bad way). So I laughed and looked at my friend Kosta and said we are going to lunch at Thea Voula's! There is absolutley NO way that you can argue with family. Well Kosta laughed because in Greece they don't eat lunch!!! They have coffee at Noon....I don't even know if they eat lunch. Maybe its something small and then around 9 or 10 o'clock they have dinner. It has been a challenge to eat like I do at home. In not so many words I expressed that to my Thea and so I think that is why she insisted that I come over. So we went.......So cute of a couple they are. We had tomato cucumber salad, and stuffed pepppers! Delicious!!!!!! and then of course there was some home made wine! My Thea made sure I knew that she made this lunch special for me and insisted that I "eat more" "Demitra why are you not eating more". I was very greatful that she thought and fed me.

Later in the afternoon we went to a little Coffee shop and watched the world cup. Kosta was cheering for Germany and they won 4-0!!!! I am not the biggest fan of soccer or "Futbol" but it was kind of an exciting game. At the cafe we met some of his friends there, at one point I was sitting with 5 Kostas!!!! Why wouldn't I???? I just had to laugh, I felt like I was in my Big Fat Greek Wedding as my friend Kosta made the introductions....."Demitra this is Kostas, Kostas, Kostas, Kostas and Dimitris" I was very close to taking a picture but I think they already thought I was kind of strange.

We then walked around, the city was very quiet. I made the comment that it was quiet and he looked at me and said that it was Saturday. Of course why would anything be open on a Saturday except for a Cafe. I kind of like the relaxed way that these people live. and its nice that the employees have the weekend off, well some of them do. Needless to say we found a Super Market open and picked up a few things. I need to do a bit of laundry.....I am running out of underwear!

It is 11:40 and Kosta is working the night shift at the Hotel. So in about 20 min or so I will go to the hotel to have a drink in the Platia. Yes....midnight....that is when the party starts around here. We are trying to figure out where we will go...maybe Thessoliniki....for sure Cornith.....maybe an island.....and there was a brief conversation about Egypt. From Greece to Egypt for 4 days including airfare, hotel and a tour guide would cost about 600 Euros. That isn't bad at ALL!!!!! In fact that is kind of cheap!!!! At this point it is just talk, seeing as how he just got back from S. Africa he is not sure if he can 1) afford it, 2) take the time off from work. Either way it will work out!!!!! It has been fun to have someone my age to take me around and show me how it is over here.

Well I think I have written enough...time to get ready to go out!!!!!!

Thank you to all that are reading and commenting on my blogs...writing these blogs is a new experience for me.

As they say in Greece Fila Pola (a lot of kisses)

Advertisement



9th July 2010

Hey D!
Love this entry, particularly about your Aunt Voula. Seems like you are having an amazing time. Good for you, girl!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb