Lamia


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Lamia
June 29th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok let me try this again.

Yesterday I traveled from Athens to Lamia Greece. It is a city about 2 hours north of Athens. I took a bus. My sister and I had a few laughs at this bus station before. I get on the bus and take my seat, a cute little old Greek man decides to sit next to me, they bus is half empty. Anyway, he starts to speak to me in Greek and before he gets carried away, I let him know that my Greek is a work in progress. He doesn't understand this and begins guessing where I am from....Bulgaria....Albania....no no I am Greek....He finally gets what I am trying to say. Anyway after that was settled we had a nice conversation. From what I gathered, he has a brother that lives in N. Carolina, he has been a bus (tour) driver for 40 years. He tells me that I should stay in Greece, it is a good country. He shows me different landmarks on the way. I show him pictures of my family and so does he. He is a shorter man with greyish hair, glasses a mustache and of course he smokes. The bus makes a stop at the 90 Cafe, and he buys me a nescafe. Very adorable man. When it is time for him to exit the bus he wishes me well and kisses my hand. His name is Serafim. Why did the bus make a stop? Well this is not a one way no stop bus ticket. The bus went along for about an hour or so (after leaving ON TIME!!!) and then it started making stops picking up and dropping off people. So a trip that would have taken about an hour and a half took 3! Welcome to Greece folks.

When I arrived in Lamia my friend Kosta picked me up from the bus station. It was nice to see a familar face. We drove around a bit, he took me to the top of a mountain to get a better view of Lamia. We went back to his place so I could drop my things off then we went out to get something to eat. Thank the Lord cause I was hungry.

He had to go help a friend later in the evening so I relaxed around his apartment, this is where I will be staying for my time here. At about 1 in the morning we went out for a drink. And there were people haning out all over, maybe like it was a Wednesday. We were out for about an hour or so then we came back because he had to work in the morning.

So here I am just getting out of bed, I have been up since around 7, but was laying there trying to figure out what I am going to do.

Thats all for now 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb