Ditzy ditzy ditzy me


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Piraeus
September 4th 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MadridMadridMadrid

Madird aiport is amazing...SARA YOU'D LOVE IT. the cieling looks like a wave, and descending with colors. This pillars that hold it up are the sam color. The airport is also all glass very contempory
Alright so few signs there are a few things wrong with me. Either I am a. really nervous b. a complete ditz or c. really tired. I am going go with option A, simply because it makes me feel better. So if you read my last entry you already know that I forgot my phone on the chair. Well somehow all that lead to a series of very stupid events.
Ok so I get to Miami airport, and begin following the signs that say DEF or something, but what I don’t see is the bottom of the sign that reads “baggage claim.” And so I end up getting out of the airport, completely unintentional. So I try to cover my mistake and I call sara (who now lives in Miami and said that if she got off of work on time shed come see me) well sara doesn’t pick up. Half hour later I am back in security line…yea… and for the record Miami security is a lot meaner then those in Orlando.
Well, if that wasn’t bad enough, I was looking through my wallet. And guess what I don’t have? MY DEBIT CARD….ahh! Oh my god! Yea…So after a little
MadridMadridMadrid

the infamous bagagge claim
freaking out session and not being able to sleep on the plane from Miami to Madrid, I came up with a plan.
“THE PLAN” consists of having my sister express ship my debit card to the port in Portugal. I have enough money with euros, dollars and my lovely credit cards to last me a while. But if for some reason that doesn’t work out well then I have my Flagler debit card (which I picked up instead of my bank debit card) and I can simply transfer funds from my bank account to my student debit. Again if all else fails , western union anyone?
Well unfortunately my stupid events didn’t end there. In Orlando check in I was told I needed to transfer my own luggage from Madrid to Athens. Ok, so I get off the plane go through customs, find baggage claim and stand there. And I wait…and wait…and about half hour later I realize I am the last one standing. I asked security, and well basically there was no need for me to be standing there. So guess what I get to do again? That’s right! SECURITY!!! Yay…so freaking excited at this point.
View from aboveView from aboveView from above

Flying from madrid to athens, we passed these islands. They are prob part of italy becuase they were really close to the peninsula.
So what do you know I peep, I knew it was bound to happen what else is tons of titanium good for, other then peeping through metal detectors. I didn’t have my x-ray card on me (it was in my purse two feet away) and security didn’t let me get it 😞 instead I had to stand there open up, pat me down, scan me with the hand held devise and then I was let go
Once that was over I wanted to fresh n up. Madrid airport has these single bathrooms, much like our family ones. I went in one of them to shower myself with wet wipes, and remove my body odor. Well once I was all fresh and clean I tried to open the door, and well I was stuck. Yes, I got locked in the bathroom. After a lot of screaming and banging on the door I was set free by the cleaning lady…oh so very embarrassing …I just walked away.

Well other then the fact that I am a complete ditz my flights though long and exhausting all turned out alright. On my way from Miami to Madrid I was sat next to
outside athens airportoutside athens airportoutside athens airport

When i got off the airplan, our plane wasnt connected to a terminal. a shuttle bus came to pick us up and take us to bagagge claim
this little girl, who was def. way more nervous then I was…she made me feel better. After I found about my debit card I couldn’t sleep, and well regardless prob. wouldn’t have because the little girl kept kicking me.
From Madrid to Athens, we had horrible turbulence. So much so, that I got motion sickness. Luckily I hadn’t eaten much, but it did make me really sleepy. Oh and I am very glad I have my peanut butter sandwiches and granola bars, I packed them just in case , and they have really been a life saver!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

random signrandom sign
random sign

i dunno it just makes it real...i am in greece!
hotel roomhotel room
hotel room

cozy little room, its not much but pretty perfect.
View from hotelView from hotel
View from hotel

With the balcony it makes it to die for. I've sat outside since i got here just staring.
View from hotelView from hotel
View from hotel

the other side


4th September 2007

I can help.
If you need me to send you some money Western Union or wire transfer just let me know. I can get it to you some how.
5th September 2007

wow
oh my god vieja i cant believe your in athens!!! you have the craziest things happen to you, let me know if you need anything. sorry i couldnt go see you i worked till 6pm i tried calling but voice mail came up i hope u got to hear my message. ohh yeah vieja madrid airport very cool. if you have nothing to do send more pics. ok good luck stay in touch
5th September 2007

I SENT YOUR DEBIT CARD!!! YEY!!!
Hi Nana: I like your story and yes I think you were probably just nervous about your traveling adventures. My favorite part of your journey was when you got stuck in the bathroom room. I had very funny images!Greece looks so beautiful. What is up with the funky colors on the bed spread? Well, I hope you were able to get some sleep. Your debit card should be in portugal by Sept 6., hopefully you get it. We love you and keep us updated!
5th September 2007

haha
omg that was horrible, when i finally was realized i was all shaky...and everyone was looking at me ...like wtf is wrong with this girl!
5th September 2007

gorda
yea i know crazy crazy stuff...but whatever i made it through all the rough points... and i got some sleep. I was fascinated bu the airport, totally thought of you the whole time because its so well designed i loved it! but yea i'll try to upload more photos...i made a video it just wont upload.
5th September 2007

thank you.
hey, thats very nice of you to offer... if all else fails you'll be the first to know :-D
6th September 2007

Peanut Butter sandwich- check/ credit card- ooops!
Hi Eli- belly! So good to know that you are safe. I saw Momma the day after you left and she is already missing you. Soo cute! Well I hope you get this $ situation all figured out. If you need anything send me an email. I will give your link to everyone at work, so they can keep in touch with you. Be good! God Bless.
6th September 2007

no te preocupes pepita!!!
hi pepo,me alegra saber de ti,hoy hable con yolis,no habia podido saber de ti hasta hoy que me conto yolis de todo lo que te habia pasado,asi que inmediatamente entre en linea para leer de tus propias palabras lo que estaba aconteciendo. Simplemente estas cosas que te estan pasando,son cosas que pasan en los viajes,son las ansias que se convierten en nervios y muchas veces el susto no nos deja pensar,otro cosa puede ser en pensar las cosas que dejas atras,las personas que te amamos y que ahora solo dependes de ti,que tu eres la que tiene que tomar las decisiones correctas para tu proteccion. Lo que debes de hacer es enfocarte en las experiencias que vas a tener,lo mucho que vas aprender,los sitios maravillosos que van a ver tus ojos,tu crecimiento espiritual.Este viaje creo que te va hacer olvidar cualquier percance que se te presente,mira las historias tan graciosas que vas a tener para contarle a tus nietos,asi que relax pepita que esto solo son pequeñeces ,comparado con las cosas que la vida nos trae. Cuidate mucho y si llegas a necesitar dinero,o cualquier otra cosa no dudes que en mi puedes contar.(mi madre te manda muchos saludos y recuerdos). besos y abrazos
8th September 2007

TOO FUNNY...
You r stories are great... I must say that you always have the MOST random things happen to you! I hope you are enjoying the boat, and your classes, I had a dream that you called me and told me you DID not like Heather at all and you wanted me to call the ship and request a room change for you... ... Funny anyway we love you an miss you!!! hope all is GREAT! Take care of yourself... XOXOXO
8th September 2007

Wow!
Ha, sounds like you have enough exciting stories already, you can come home now :-) hehe, jk, i really miss you! i am so glad you have the blog to write in!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb