One of the most beautiful small islands -- ON to Hydra, Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Hydra
August 2nd 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Donkey ride ayoneDonkey ride ayoneDonkey ride ayone

This is th eonly mode of ravel on this island
Now I have traveled on to island of Hydra. A very small rock island. How beautiful, a 1/2 hr ferry ride from Spetses. I found a place right away along the port with a balcony overlooking all the boats, ferries and village. It was so beautiful. If not walking around, I sat and watched the action. A young university Greek couple were next door, and after walking and eating, I sat and we all talked each on our own close balcony for 2 hours. We had a great time comparing countries and travels. On this island no vehicles except the town are allowed at all, not even scooters. They use donkeys to carry items and luggage for travelers, or pull carts etc. Yu get your exercise. Also water taxis and boats to get around the island. The place is absolutely beautiful. I can not wait till you see my beautiful pictures. I walked up one side and around the other. The sail boats and boats around this place are unreal. So many well to do people stop here. There was absolutely great shopping in jewelery and shops and allot of people and many eating places. I had a drink along a
Hydra DonkeysHydra DonkeysHydra Donkeys

What a load
beautiful outdoor restaurant over looking the swimming in the sea. So nice. I stayed over and then returned back to Athens the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hydra portHydra port
Hydra port

coming in on the ferry - view of port
Beech and RestaurantBeech and Restaurant
Beech and Restaurant

On island of Hydra. absolutely beautiful
Hydra beechHydra beech
Hydra beech

Wish you were here
Sail boatSail boat
Sail boat

This was one of many beautiful sail boats on Hydra island
Hydra port from my balconeHydra port from my balcone
Hydra port from my balcone

this was my view all evening long


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb