Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 30th 2015
Published: May 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As of writing this it is Saturday, 30 May. While I will be overseas for the summer as part of my study abroad element to my degree I chose to visit Athens for a brief two-day trip. I arrived in the evening on Thursday, 28 May. In order to reach my hotel in central Athens I hopped on the Metro at Eleftherios Venizelos Airport to the Monastiraki area of the city. The ride from the airport to this area was approximately 35-40 minutes.

One of the most fascinating features of Athens in my opinion is its topography: soft green mountains fill the horizon in many directions from the city. Areas around central Athens are hilly so naturally many streets are quite windy without uniformity or symmetry.

My two-full days, Friday and Saturday, were spent exploring the city on foot. I began Friday morning by walking up towards the Acropolis and the Roman Agora. The morning and early afternoon were cloudy with a light drizzle, but by mid-afternoon the sky cleared right up. I walked around the Roman Agora, exploring many of the ruins of ancient Athens. Most of the structures which once existed no longer stand except for remains of foundations. Some structures, however, have survived the test of time as some of the pictures show. Shops and restaurants of all kinds make-up the area surrounding the Acropolis. One of the places I walked up a couple times these few days is Philopappos Hill. There are great views of the Acropolis much of the city as well. In the afternoon I hiked up Lycabettus Hill which towers over the city providing more great views of the city. There is a small church called the Chapel of St George at the summit.

Saturday morning I explored the Acropolis itself, standing next to the Parthenon. Later on I decided to walk out to the coast. It's quite far to walk from the centre out to the water but it was a nice stroll and the water sparkled from the sun.

This is an abbreviated synopsis of my visit, of course, but hope you enjoy some of the pictures I took here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st May 2015
Temple of Rome & Augustus, Parthenon

Athens
Wow Andrew! Great pictures. Makes me want to go to Athens. I'll text you soon with dates we were thinking of visiting Edinburg. Just want to make sure the dates work with you
31st May 2015
Temple of Rome & Augustus, Parthenon

Athens
Wow Andrew! Great pictures. Makes me want to go to Athens. I'll text you soon with dates we were thinking of visiting Edinburg. Just want to make sure the dates work with you

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb