Athens is hot and humid...but it's better than being back home....


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 6th 2006
Published: June 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow,

I didn't realize how long it has been since I last posted anything. I have to really sit here and think of everything that I've done so far...I'll try my best and if I miss anything, I'll mention it later.

Well, I've been to Pisa and seen the leaning tower, I will have to say that it's much smaller than I had imagined, but it was still impressive all the same. I did resist taking the really cheesy photo which everyone takes there. Position yourself just right, and you can make it look like your helping push the tower up on your own. The funnies thing is to take pictures of these people without the tower in view...they look like a bunch of idiots. I did however lay out on the park lawn next to it and take pictures of my nephew's hotwheels car driving up the side of the tower, a much more clever photo op I think.

As for the rest of the trip so far, it's been pretty much the same stops every time. Mikonos is still my favourite stop, although Barcelona takes my breath away every time. I got to see more of it this time, visiting some of the Churches and other touristy spots...this place is just amazing with all of it's history and culture. I'm still having a challenge uploading my photos...it's taking too long. I think I'm going to make a cd, send it to my fam back home and get them to upload the pics. I've had some amazing Pizza in Naples and Rome, and I will have to say that Naples, although very dirty and congested, is starting to charm me. I stumbled upon a street which was filled with local shops, fish and vegetable stands and seeing these people in their everyday routine really makes me appreciate being here, since this is what Italy's all about. Oh, I can't believe that I nearly forgot to mention Marseille. The only stop where I can speak and read the local language, it's been a great spot. I bought a bunch of french wine at a local grocery store, haven't found a Carrefour yet, but I'm still looking. I will have to say that I was slightly surprised to find horse on the menu in France, but then I did hear that it is a favourite there.

The weather has been amazing, with only about 1hr of rain since I got on this ship. As for life on board, it's still quite fun, I have to take a break from the busy social calendar that I keep. They have so many events planned for the crew that I sometimes have to skip them so I can get some sleep. I will have to say though that I've had 2 breathtaking views this week. First was looking up at a blanket of stars while passing through one of the straights on our way from Greece to Turkey, it's been a while since I've seen so many stars in the sky. The other view was my first sunrise in about a year...I am a bartender of course, the hours I keep don't really allow me for such a luxury...nor do I really care to be up that early to see them anyway. I will have to say that on this particular morning, I had yet to go to sleep since there was an extended party that turned into an all night chat session with a few of my fellow bartenders. Seeing as it was 6am when I decided to leave the room, I figured I might as well see if the sun was up. This particual sunrise was just off the coast of Turkey, with it's rocky terrain in the background and just the right amound of clouds in the sky to paint the sky with it's brilliant colours. I'm a little upset that I didn't get a chance to take a picture of it.

Anyway, that's all I've got to say for the moment. I'm off to Venice after today and hope I'll get a chance to upload my photos there. I found a good internet cafe there on the last day we were there.

More next time....

Cheers,

Neil

Advertisement



6th June 2006

we really do all miss you
Neil. i am glad to hear that you are haing a great time. Work has never been the same without you. I am sure that you knew that would happen.!!!! take care and I love the blogs it is so nice to hear all that you are doing and seeing.
6th June 2006

Missing Europe...
Ok, I have to admit that I was one of those cheesy tourists that took the photo next to the leaning tower of Pisa, but I was 22 and with 30 other students when I did it! The cruise seems like it was only yesterday, but has sparked a need to want to go back to Europe again and again and reading your blogs Neil makes me want to come back again soon! Anyhow, for now, I'll just live vicariously through you!! Sounds like you're having an awesome time - wish I was there!! Take Care!!!

Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb