Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 31st 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

As you can tell by now, I have spent the day in an internet cafe getting you all up to date. Maybe I'm a little homesick today and this is my way of feeling like I'm talking to each of you.

I arrived in Athens on the 29th after a 5 hr ferry from Santorini (still sad to leave there). I met a great Aussie couple, Dino and Laina, who stayed at my hotel in Santorini and were also going to Athens for the night. I'll just call them my guardian angels of Athens as they took me under their wing. We took the metro together into the city. We parted ways when we got to the city and I dedided to hotel hunt as I did not book one prior. After a few hours and no decisions, I ran into Dino and Laina finishing up dinner. They walked with me as I checked out hotels, finally deciding on the fancy one (gotta splurge once in a while) and then we settled down at my hotel for a drink. I really enjoyed spending time with them and they were so helpful in walking me around Athens (bonus, Dino speaks Greek!)
ErechtheionErechtheionErechtheion

I bet their heads hurt holding that up.
and made the rest of my trip much easier as I was now oriented with the city.

Athens . . . I heard it's dirty, polluted, get in to see the sights and get out. I totally disagree. I actually really like it. I wouldn't mind staying here longer except I have a flight tomorrow to Rome.

I spent all day yesterday on foot. Did a little window shopping, then on to Ancient Agora and the Acropolis. Kevin and Christa - VERY impressed that you got in togas and snuck onto the Parthenon for your christmas photo! Although I have to say, their security at these ruins is pretty funny. They blow a whistle at you if you get too close to one of the ruins. I expected to turn around and see Ms. Mead from PE class telling us it's time to rotate in volleyball.

Tomorrow is a great day for me. I leave in the morning and fly to Rome, then a train to Naples for the biggest present of my trip . . . my sister Val. 10 whole days, I can't wait! :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Theater of Herodes AtticusTheater of Herodes Atticus
Theater of Herodes Atticus

They were getting ready for a concert that night. It reminded me of seeing Chris Isaac at Mountain Winery (thanks Ben!)
Pollution & SunsetsPollution & Sunsets
Pollution & Sunsets

A little smog always makes for a fab sunset. (from my hotel roof).
Night ViewNight View
Night View

Acropolis from my hotel roof, the Electra Palace.


31st May 2006

Very Cool!
Hey Christy! Thanks for sharing your travel blog...no fair that I'm reading it at working and wishing I was away too. Have a fantastic trip and can't wait to hear more. -JJ
31st May 2006

Christy, following your trip gives me chills. Your photos bring back so many memories of our trips abroad! We are so excited for you to take an opporotunity like this one. Enjoy every moment to the fullest. We can't wait to hear about your days with Val. Much love to you!
31st May 2006

Wow!
Looks like it's been an amazing adventure so far. The photos and quick stories are great. By now I'm sure you and Val have immersed yoursevles in italien culture... Enjoying gelato, lemoncella and everything else italy has to offer. Look forward to seeing the next post.
31st May 2006

I'm officially jealous...
31st May 2006

WOW!
Hey Christy! So happy to get all the blogs and pictures! It looks and sounds incredible! John and I are going to be in Switzerland (he has business there), France and maybe Italy from June 20-26th. Quick trip I know, but better than nothing. Are you going to be anywhere near there?? Would LOVE to hook up! Miss you!
31st May 2006

Reading them as they come in!
Just got back from Europe too. Travel safe! Keep the travel logs coming!
1st June 2006

paradiso
Your reports/pics from Turkey and Greece confirm their places on my "must-travel" list! Looks divine. I am so glad you're meeting up with new people to share adventures, and know you'll have a great time in Italy with your sis... Looking forward to your dispatches all summer long!
1st June 2006

Napoli
While Napoli is pretty bland, make sure to take the boat to Capri. beautiful island. Stay there for a night if you can and see the Grotta!! Have fun, I am jealous, Klaus
1st June 2006

amazing
Thanks so much for sending the equivalent of the most terrific travel brochure ever made. Sounds like you're having a wonderful time and you look so happy...so that makes me happy :) Can't wait for the next chapter! xoxo, Laura
1st June 2006

Loving the insight
Christy, sounds like you are having a great time!! I am really loving your insight and photos as I will be heading to Greece myself Sept 2. My boyfriend and I are in the middle of trying to plan our itinerary. We will arrive in Athens Sept 3, stay 2 nights, then head to 2 Islands for 10 days. Santorini for sure?? Could use advice on which 2 islands, best way to travel between each, and what we MUST not miss!! Happy Travels!!
1st June 2006

Now why did I say no?
Ok ... so you are definitely going to get me to say yes for the end of the trip!
1st June 2006

We're Jealous!
Hi Christy! Mal and I are living through your travels as we wish we were enjoying europe too. Perhaps some day when the kids are older. We can't wait to read more about your trip and see all your photos when your back. Enjoy your time with Val. XOXO
1st June 2006

Loving this!!!
Foley- You look amazing and sound great! If only I could be there with you... Unfortunately, I am stuck here living vicariously thru you. I am thoroughly enjoying the blog, keep 'em coming. Love you. -T
1st June 2006

You Rock
I'm so excited for you. I can't wait for my time off. You rock! I'm keeping a close eye on your place; have no worries. Can't wait to you see you soon.
1st June 2006

Amazing!
you should be a photographer! reading your travel notes and looking at your pictures have made my day! what i would do to be in italy with a lemoncello right now! ciao!
1st June 2006

yipee
Hi Christy- just got through all of your blog entries! Looks and sounds like you are having an amazing trip. If you have time head over to croatia from italy. the dalmatian coast is great for island hoping. believe me i know how it is to get a bit homesick on these great life changing adventures. have a great time and i cant wait to hear more!
1st June 2006

HI
this is great christy. thanks for sending it out to us all. what beautiful places you are visiting. your pictures are great as are your captions and updates!!. we are looking to buy a camera - what is your camera???
2nd June 2006

Great way to end.. in Greece
Athens was a bit scary for me too, but what a treat spending time at the Acropolis. I am so happy you went. Your blog really is amazing. The trip all of us dream of doing.
3rd June 2006

Hey girl!!
I'm just digging into your travel blogs. I'm so jealous and so absolutely thrilled for you. What an amazing trip you are doing. I'm sure it has been and will continue to be so good for your soul. Have a great time with your sister and thank you so much for sharing this with all of us!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE
3rd June 2006

Italy
Did you get my email about our "in" in Venice? Not sure if you are going there but we had a GREAT cooking instructor who further advanced our talents in eating and drinking (as if we needed any help!) Let me know if you need his contact info if you want to set something up with him! Ciao baby.......
3rd June 2006

GREAQT TRAVELBLOG
HELLO CHRISTY; I TEARED UP WITH PRIDE, WHEN YOU MENTIONED VAL AS YOUR BIGGEST PRESENT OF THE TRIP. HAVE A GREAT TIME WITH EACH OTHER I WISH I WERE THERE WITH YOU. LOVE DAD
5th June 2006

World Traveler
Hi Christy, your pictures are fantastic, as to be expected with your eye. This is such a fun way to share your adventures. I know you are loving Italy. Can't wait to hear about!
15th June 2006

so cool!
Christy, You look and sound great. What an exciting adventure! We live vicariously through your blog. How fab.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb