Off to Porto Rafti


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 3rd 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sadly, my new friend Zoe and I had to say goodbye this morning as she had to leave very early to catch a flight, so I am back to enjoying my own company. I had a few hours left before I had to check out so I spent it getting excited to meet the family I would be staying with for the first time.

Around 1:00, Alex, the father of the two girls I will be taking care of, arrived at the hotel to take me back to the summer home we will be staying at. I could not believe the view of the Aegean Sea as we pulled into the driveway of the house. It was amazing how close we were to the beach and to the surrounding beauty of the islands. Upon my arrival, I was taken to the pool area to meet Christina and the kids.

The kids definitely were not very impressed with me and didn’t want much to do with me. I was told that they were both extremely shy and that I would take some getting used to. I was told that I could take the night off to get settled in, as they would be returning to Christina’s parents’ house to get the rest of their things and wouldn’t be returning until late the next day. I couldn’t argue with that arrangement. I spent the next 24 hours getting accustomed to my new environment and exploring the town I would be living in for the next 2 months.

We are staying in a small complex where everyone knows each other. It is gated off from the rest of the community so it feels very safe and welcoming. There are two pools in the complex (one for the children and one for the adults) so I spent as much time as possible at the adult pool before the family came back and the work started. I also got acquainted with the only English speaking waiter at the restaurant above the pool. He told me Porto Rafti has great nightlife, so I’m hoping I will get to experience that at some point.

Overall, it’s been a relaxing and enjoyable couple of days (just what I needed after my incredibly stressful journey) and I am ready and excited to get to work!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb