Leaving the sunshine behind


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
January 4th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another pretty viewAnother pretty viewAnother pretty view

This is one of the hills west of the Acropolis.
These are pictures from my last day in Athens. I didn't have any problems throughout my stay in Athens until it came time to get to the airport. And here you thought I wasn't going to have any stories to tell!

I headed out early in the morning to go to the top of the Hill of the Muses, then I checked out of my hostel, and went to the Metro station to catch my train to the airport. Now, before I left London, I made sure to get directions and info about the airport so that I would kind of know where I was headed when it was time for me to leave.

I was flying easyJet and they are notorious for flying into obscure airports that aren't actually the main airport serving the city. Based on the easyJet site, I was able to get directions and head merrily on my way. It only took me three trains to get there (because the train I was on kept terminating before I wanted it too) but I did. I walk from the platform through the necessary maze and make it to the departures area. There is a sign in
Prison of SocratesPrison of SocratesPrison of Socrates

For whatever reason, whenever I picture Socrates, I can only picture him the way he is depicted in Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure.
front of me with the scheduled flights and where you have to go to to check in...and NO easyJet flight is listed.

I started to sort of freak out. I had allowed plenty of time to get to this airport, check in, and still have time to wait before boarding, but that was definitely not enough time to figure out where I was supposed to be, how to get a taxi, and get checked in before the plane left without me. AHHHHHH!

I decide to just keep going because if this isn't where I need to be, I need to find someone at a help/information desk to help get me sorted. Just as I walk up to the desk (after dodging traffic as part of the maze--I felt like Frogger), there is another screen saying departure check in points and gates. Thankfully, before I went and tried to ask someone for help, my flight showed up on the screen. I've never been so happy to see a computerized screen as I was then. :-)

I was able to get on my plane and get a seat in the front row (extra leg room for me!). I got
Yep, you guessed itYep, you guessed itYep, you guessed it

Another picture of the Acropolis.
back into Gatwick Airport and then set about the business of taking three trains back to my flat. All in all, it was a wonderful holiday and I'm sooooooo glad that I went.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The MusesThe Muses
The Muses

This is a monument originally thought to be a funeral monument for Mousaios but has now been determined to be a dedicated to the Muses.
I promise...really, I do!I promise...really, I do!
I promise...really, I do!

This is the last picture of the Acropolis and Parthenon that I'll post for you. To get another one, you'll have to go to Athens yourself. ;-)


21st February 2006

When you write your best seller
Good to hear from you. When you go to write your best seller (that will sure to become a movie)of your many travels and experiences and pictures---I want one of the first autographed copies. So glad you are doing well. Come see us when you come home.

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb