Agora, Acropolis, Athens...oh my!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
December 31st 2005
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Enjoy the beautiful pictures of the city! Mary

P.S. I apologize for the many entries you're going to receive from my trip over Christmas. I finally sat down and got all the pictures uploaded and everything written and now that I've got it done, I don't want to wait to send out some of the entries. I hope to get my Lisbon pictures up very shortly so you can expect another entry from me when that happens. Enjoy the pics and let me know how you're doing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The ParthenonThe Parthenon
The Parthenon

They were doing a lot of preservation work, but the Parthenon was still an imposing structure.
In the AgoraIn the Agora
In the Agora

Can you imagine looking out your window every morning to see the remains of the Roman Agora? I can't.
Posing for a picPosing for a pic
Posing for a pic

This is one of the few pictures of me in Greece in which I'm wearing a coat just because it's December and my brain says that I should be wearing a coat even though the weather says I should definitely NOT be wearing a coat.
This is all that's leftThis is all that's left
This is all that's left

The structure that used to be here must have been awesome. Where some of the pillars are missing, I could see the slots where the dowels went to hold up the columns. Not very big in relation to what they supported.
THE Roman AgoraTHE Roman Agora
THE Roman Agora

This is the site of the center of Roman civilization within Athens. In the distance sits the Temple of Hephaistos.
Church of the Holy ApostlesChurch of the Holy Apostles
Church of the Holy Apostles

This is one of the only structures within the Agora to have been preserved.
Amphitheatre of Herodus AtticusAmphitheatre of Herodus Atticus
Amphitheatre of Herodus Atticus

This is still used in the summer for various productions.
Bad things happenBad things happen
Bad things happen

when you ask strangers to take a good photo. Neither the Parthenon nor I actually lean to the side like it looks in the photo. ;-)
The ErechtheionThe Erechtheion
The Erechtheion

Dedicated to various deities of Athena, this structure was built between 421 and 406 B.C.
View of the end of the ParthenonView of the end of the Parthenon
View of the end of the Parthenon

Not nearly as interesting as it could have been before the Venetians bombed the structure in 1687.
The Temple of Olympian ZeusThe Temple of Olympian Zeus
The Temple of Olympian Zeus

There used to be 104 columns, of which only 15 remain. One of the columns was blown down during a storm in 1852.
Who would have guessed?Who would have guessed?
Who would have guessed?

It's me with the Parthenon...again.
We claim this rocky crag for Greece!We claim this rocky crag for Greece!
We claim this rocky crag for Greece!

The flag is flying high above the city.
Holy doric column, Batman!Holy doric column, Batman!
Holy doric column, Batman!

I still can't figure out how they actually maneuver all of this stone up to the top of a giant rock.
Statues at the ErechtheionStatues at the Erechtheion
Statues at the Erechtheion

These six statues are all duplicates. Five of the originals are inside the museum on the Acropolis and the other is at the British Museum...so I can visit it anytime I want.
Hadrian's ArchHadrian's Arch
Hadrian's Arch

On one side of the arch it says "This is Athens, the ancient city of Theseus." On the other side it says "This is the city of Hadrian and not of Theseus."
HmmmmHmmmm
Hmmmm

I can't tell you of what this is a picture, but I thought it was pretty so I took one.
The front of my HostelThe front of my Hostel
The front of my Hostel

Here is where I spent my down time while I was in Athens...not that I had a lot of down time.
Pretty picturePretty picture
Pretty picture

This picture was a mosaic of sorts in the side of a building just to the south of the Acropolis.
New Year's Eve CelebrationNew Year's Eve Celebration
New Year's Eve Celebration

About 3/4 of a block from my hostel, a HUGE party was taking place with traditional Greek music and a whole lot of people.
Where have all the boys gone?Where have all the boys gone?
Where have all the boys gone?

To quote the title of a book my friend Helen got me for Christmas, where have all the boys gone? I think they all went to Athens, but that's just my personal opinion. :-)


25th February 2006

love the pics
Wow, mary, your pics look great! Donna Henley
28th February 2006

Great pics! Thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb