The End is Near...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 6th 2009
Published: May 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, the end of my semester abroad is rapidly approaching.

Camille came in to visit me on Sunday evening. We went to a taverna for dinner with some of my friends. I am really going to miss tavernas. I think they should be as popular in the states as they are in Greece because they are wonderful! What will I do without my regular supply of delicious and amazing Greek food????

Anyway, on Monday Camille joined my archaeology class for a tour of the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the surrounding area. My second class of the day was canceled, so I took Camille to the Acropolis. I showed her around as best as I could and shared as much knowledge as came readily to mind while on site. I was a bit impressed with how much I could say without reviewing any notes or anything, and I think Camille was appreciative of the information. The rest of the day consisted of me desperately attempting to finish two papers at once before 5pm. Luckily, I managed to do so!

On Tuesday, Camille and I walked around Athens and did a bit of shopping. It was the first real shopping trip I have taken here, and I enjoyed myself. We walked around three of the big neighborhoods in Athens: Monstaraki, Syntagma, and Plaka. We then got crepes for dinner and took them back to my apartment to enjoy some food, some drink, and some entertainment.

Today was my last day of classes. Tonight my history professor threw a goodbye party at his home. All his classes were invited and it was definitely different to go to a party hosted by my professor...

I am now officially finished with Ancient Greek, possibly forever, and with Archaeological Drawing. Just an exam on Saturday, and exam on Monday and one more paper remain of my academic experience in Greece. I can't believe it is almost over. Some days I feel like I just barely got here and other days I feel like it can't even be real.

I have definitely fallen in love with this country. The food, the people, the environment, the culture, the history, and the constant access to archaeological sites have all won me over. It will be very hard to say goodbye, but I will just be looking forward to my next stay here!

I definitely have a lot of fun traveling come up in the next couple of weeks! Meteora, Barcelona, and Santorini are all on my list!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb