Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
January 18th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Zues's TempleZues's TempleZues's Temple

Or what's left of it!

Sitting on the roof of the hostel with the Acropolis right in front of me havin a beer, olives & feta watching a shit hot sunset, awesome!
After a 30 hr boat cruise (this ship was huge, bars, restaurants, a disco & an empty pool!) & a 3 hr bus trip I finally got into Athens. But the metro had just stopped @ 12 so I had to get a taxi but the driver didn’t really know where to go and had no English. So he dropped me closish to the hostel & after a bit of walkin about I got there and finally a shower and a bed, yer!

I stayed in the Athens Backpackers & it was a top hostel, run by Greek aussies, a bar, kitchen, free breky, data projector for movies & sport, small & nice dorms, roof top balcony. And the guys would always be organizing shit for us to do, poker & blackjack tournaments (with a pro dealer that was stayin & I only lost a 5a over a few hours) mountain treks, footy on the big screen, good craic!

The first 3 days where great weather (boardies & shirt weather) so the first day I went tourin around, I went around the acropolis, through all the gardens, up the hill of the muses, the Pilloposes monument, through the Plaka (old part of town full of souvenir shops), then to some awesome markets (fruit & veg, cheeses, sausages, meat seafood) to the ingredients for my dinners. Next day I went to Eugina Is for the day, Saturday toured around the city some more then we had a bit of a party @ the hostel, drinkin games and drinks on the roof, good fun (the fist time in nearly 3 weeks on the shot!)

Sunday is free day! All the major attractions are free to get in, I love the word free! So me, an aussie chick & a gal from Canada went up to the acropolis, saw the Parthenon & the museum, then down to the ancient angora, the agora museum and the gardens and a little church (mainly to escape the rain for a bit)then back to the hostel for a bit of pulp fiction on the big screen.
The last day I made friends with a broke polish busker, he had no food so I cooked him a feed and he played us a heap of his tunes in the bar, real good.

Rippa times in Athens next stop London to hopefully get a job.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Good mornin!Good mornin!
Good mornin!

The sunrise after 10 hrs, a brief sleep under the luggage rack & a whole lot of tunes on the ipod!
The funny hat makes a return!The funny hat makes a return!
The funny hat makes a return!

On the roof of the hostel & it was bloody cold.


3rd February 2006

birthday
3/2/83.The day of the AARON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 95; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb