Whose afraid of the Athens' 10K?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
November 7th 2005
Published: November 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

AthletesAthletesAthletes

Gina and Me following the race.
The Athens Classic Marathon follows the course of the original marathon. From the town of Marathon, runners follow a 42K (26 miles) course all the way into Athens’ Panathaneic Stadium (the marble stadium that housed the first modern Olympics in 1938). In addition to the full marathon, organizers offer a 10K race for those whose “age or physical condition prevents them from completing the full marathon” (a quote from the official website… I suppose I fall in the latter category).

When I signed up a few months ago for the 10K race, I had little faith that I would be able to complete the 6.2 mile course, and, when I arrived at the race on Sunday morning, I was still doubting my ability to run 6 miles. I had barely adhered to my training schedule, and had only run as much as 3.5 miles. When I arrived at the Pananthaneic Stadium, it was a fun atmosphere, with hundreds of runners warming up, and dance music blasting. Our course spanned the last 5K of the official marathon. We started at the Pananthaneic Stadium and ran on the street for 5K, then we turned around and came back to finish on the
Kenyan #1Kenyan #1Kenyan #1

This was the first person across the finish line with a time of 2:15.
track of the stadium. Our race started at 9:00, and the course would close by 10:30, when the first marathon runners would be reaching the stadium (i.e. the Kenyans). I was pleasantly surprised that I was in fact able to run the whole race. My time was okay, at 1 hour and four minutes. I felt like such an athlete with my “bib number” (4253), certificate, and medal! I think I may have gotten the “bug” for running and may look into entering some races in Philadelphia.

Soon after our race finished, I joined my friends in the stands of the stadium to await the arrival of the top finishers in the marathon. With a time of 2 hours and 15 minutes, the first Kenyan came speeding into the stadium. Close behind him were two more Kenyans. The Kenyans were so placid and content following the race, it looked as if they could keep running for another few hours! It was really a spectacular site to see how graceful, fast, and well-conditioned they are.

My friend, Mike, came in with a time of 3 hours and 38 minutes, a very respectable time. It was interesting to see the
The 10K ClubThe 10K ClubThe 10K Club

Me with all of the other CYA kids who ran the 10K.
variation in the conditions of the runners following the race. Some runners collapsed at the finish line and needed medical attention, while others were smiling and waving to the crowd as they neared the finish. Others brought their kids with them for the last 50 meters of the race. Mike trained very well for the marathon, so he seemed to feel relatively okay following the race, much to the relief of his friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Awards CeremonyThe Awards Ceremony
The Awards Ceremony

Kenyans 1, 2, and 3...
Run Mikey RunRun Mikey Run
Run Mikey Run

My friend, Mike, is at the front of the pack (in blue), finishing with a time of 3:38.


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb