Jaywalking and Street Dogs in Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 29th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My StreetMy StreetMy Street

My Street in Kolonaki, Athens. Note the street lights.
As the taxi driver takes me from the airport to Athens, my first impression of the city is how much it resembles Jerusalem. Buildings are built of limestone and marble, and the sprawling city is surrounded by mountains. The streets are lined with orange, lemon, and lime trees, and soldiers dressed in traditional garb (the real men in tights!) stand motionless in front of government buildings.

As I would come to quickly realize, the city is not planned in a grid but rather is a series of winding streets, each interrupted by ancient sites and historic mountains. The twisting streets, in conjunction with streetnames longer than our alphabet, contribute to difficulties in finding my way. I get lost a lot, but getting lost seems to be the best way to get to know the city. (see the photo of the view of the Parthenon that I stumbled upon when lost one day) Getting around the city is further hindered by Athenian drivers’ blatant disregard of all traffic laws. Here, crossing at the light presents the same risk as jay-walking because many drivers neglect to stop at red lights anyway.

The city feels beautiful, intimidating, and profoundly foreign. There are more motorbikes than cars, and there are more stray cats and dogs than one could imagine! These dogs are unlike dogs from home. These dogs are street dogs. They could eat Sasha and Gizmo for breakfast. The most foreign thing, however, is the men. They are clad in the tightest jeans I have ever seen, big sunglasses, and a neo-mullet (spikey gelled hair + a Mohawk + a mullet = the neo-mullet). They walk like soccer players, which they all probably are. (Note that spectators are currently suspended from attending Greek soccer games b/c of chaotic behavior in the recent past.)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Men in TightsMen in Tights
Men in Tights

The changing of the guards in front of the President's House, on Vassileos Konstandinou.
I Thought I Was Lost...I Thought I Was Lost...
I Thought I Was Lost...

...but look what I found! What a view! Note the Parthenon.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb